Skip to content

BoA – American “Eat You Up” MV

October 22, 2008

The American version of BoA’s “Eat You Up” MV is finally out, and what do I think? Dude, if you gave me the raw footage, I could do a better job. This is the cheapest piece of crap I’ve seen in a long time, to be completely honest. BoA is a big name (with big talent) and deserves quality. They should have taken the money they spent on those cheesy CGI backgrounds and put it towards something like… I don’t know! Anything. Wardrobe? A better director? Maybe as a bribe to make the editor spend more than five minutes on the thing?

I hate saying this, but Boa looks like a cheap hooker in the leather, and some kind of broke hip-hop wannabe in the other outfit. I think she looks best in the clothes in the “breezy” scenes, but those scenes are, in general, kind of exaggerated and sleazy.

I have no idea why on earth there are the two token black back-up dancers. They are completely ineffective. Not only do they dance poorly, but the quantity of dancers is so pathetic.

The editing is horrible too. I’m just an amateur when it comes to such thigngs, but I don’t think it takes a professional to recognize mistakes. For instance, in the “moonscape,” BoA’s hat disappears several times.

The biggest contrast between the two videos to me? In the Asian version, you want to be BoA. In the American version… you don’t even want to be around BoA. And what has to be the most painful thing about this video is the fact that there is another MV for the same song out there that kills in comparison. And it won’t be seen by many Americans. Great way to kill BoA’s debut, SM!

But… speaking of the Asian version, I love her nails. I would love to do that to mine, but I’m not talented enough D: LOL. Seriously though, I just feel sad about this American version of the MV. It’s not as horrendous as I am letting on, but it’s pretty bad.

Anyway, go buy the song if it’s available to you on iTunes! It’s only 99 cents. That’s so cheap. I mean, I bought it and I have no money lol. The more I listen to the song, the less I notice its faults. I think that’s a good thing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

