Skip to content

Movie Review: “Baby and Me”

December 17, 2008

Haha, I am not a big fan of movies (sometimes there isn’t enough time for character development), but there are a few that I have been REALLY meaning to watch. Baby and Me starring Jang Geun Suk was definitely one of them. And now I have seen it!

It wasn’t ALL that I thought it would be, but it was a lot better than some of the movies I’ve picked up lately. Within the first minutes I knew I was HOOKED, which is always a good sign.

Baby and Me Baby and Me

Here is a quick synopsis, courtesy of Soompi:

“Baby & Me” is a straight up comedy centered around Geun-seok Jang’s character, Joon-soo, becoming a sudden father. In the movie, Joon-soo is a tough 19 year old high school kid that loves to cause trouble. He often gets in fights, once with 17 other guys, but always comes out as the victor. Then one day Joon-soo’s parents decides to go out of town. Joon-soo decides then and there to throw a party at his parent’s home. He then goes shopping for groceries and comes upon an unexpected surprise. A little toddler sits in a shopping basket wearing the name tag “Han Wooram” and points to Joon-soo as his father!

He then takes the baby home and tries to find the baby’s real parents. When he can’t find the parents, Joon-soo even tries to abandon the baby but always fails. He then takes the kid to school which causes further scandal and a suspension. But during this time an unexpected event occurs between Joon-soo and Woo-ram…

[More…] Baby Mason = the cutest thing ever. I basically do not think I even have to say this. Just so you know, they have an adorable slideshow during the credits. Totally worth watching. You might think Jang Geun Suk is the star of this show, but he’s nothing without this boy. And you might think that JGS is pretty cute, but he is nothing compared to this boy. LMAO!

But JGS held his own. As if I didn’t already think he was complete eye-candy, he had caught my interest even more with this role. And why the heck do people criticize him so much for his acting? Given, I haven’t seen his apparently wooden acting in Hong Gil Dong yet, but whatever. He did well in Baby and Me. Probably not award-winning well, but he didn’t suck.

The plot was really intriguing for me. I think there have plenty of movies about teen moms, and definitely not enough movies about teen dads. Alright, so the idea is less plausible, but it’s the cracktastic kind that fangirls ooh and ahh over (when it’s fictional, of course). The subject is, of course, kind of heavy, but the movie isn’t. There’s plenty of crying in the movie, but I don’t think I ever felt depressed by it. This is especially good for me, considering I’m avoiding a particularly tragic drama right now lol.

Here is spoilerly material for those who have seen the movie already, or simply don’t care to know what happens.

Highlight to see: Alright, one thing that simply CRACKED me up was how easily that American couple got close to adopting Woo Rahm. Uh, has anyone known anyone who has tried to adopt a baby overseas? I have known a couple of people, and it’s usually as hard as all get out. So to me, it was utterly unrealistic to see that couple arrive in Korea to pick up an adoptive baby in such a short period of time (they didn’t let on how long, but you could tell it wasn’t more than a few weeks, if not days).

Also, it really pissed me the heck of that Joon Soo wasn’t the father. Sure, it freed him up, but how could the friend have been the dad? Uh, did you take a look at that adorable baby? I don’t think so LOL.

Another thing that was hella weird was how Joon Soo had no real idea about breast milk. LOL, I think he got it in the end when he went to see various new mommies, but wtf was up with him running after random women? LMAO. That was kind of a weird plot line. Plus, why the heck did they make Woo Rahm “talk”? UGH, so annoying. But it’s not that hard to get over. /end spoilers

IDK, those were just thoughts that I had that I wanted to mention for whatever reason.

I guess Baby and Me was very lean on “quality” information, lessons, etc., but it was incredibly entertaining. And that is sometimes all we need.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

