Skip to content

After School is…

January 15, 2009

One of K-pop’s newest girl groups, After School, is actually pretty decent! They’ve released two songs, “Play Girlz” and “AH,” and they are completely addicting. I’m not digging the overtly sexual look of the group, but you’ll be hard pressed to NOT find sex selling in one way or another in the entertainment industry.

After School

So maybe class isn’t After School’s style, but they have some catchy songs.

“Play Girlz” was previewed on one of the gayo festivals (SBS) at the end of the year, so it’s possible I was predisposed to like it. However, when I first heard it I didn’t find it that appealing… I think it’s because I didn’t hear the whole thing. What I like about it now is the fun dance music mixed with rapping and singing that’s actually LISTENABLE. Just when you get tired of the rapping, it transitions into some vocals. They aren’t exceptional, but they aren’t grating either. YES.

Weirdly enough, both “Play Girlz” and “AH” have the same intro; the same exact intro Son Dambi’s “Crazy” has (although in SDB’s it’s toned down). It doesn’t matter though. I just thought that was a little weird! (Edit: It’s because Brave Brothers produced.) ANYWAY, when I saw the teaser for the MV, I had a feeling it would be a so-so song that border-lined obnoxious. I don’t know why I have changed my mind now that I’ve heard the whole thing. It’s kind of like a continuation of “Play Girlz,” actually. It has the same feeling. The chorus has the potential to be be annoying, but something saves it from crossing the line.

I’m actually a little surprised that I have some interest in this music. After School might be using their bodies as promotion, but I might be tuning in for the songs.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. alyssa permalink
    January 16, 2009 3:42 pm

    that intro that you hear in all 3 songs is the producers’ signature (they’re called Brave Brothers)

    Brave Brothers first became known (to me at least) when they worked with GD in composing/producing “Last Farewell” – which is prolly one of the only songs Brave Bros hv come up with that doesnt have the (annoying) signature.

  2. January 16, 2009 6:32 pm

    Oh cool, I didn’t know that. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

