Skip to content

Taiwanese “Zettai Kareshi/Absolute Boyfriend” to Air

January 20, 2009

Two idols who have amassed much popularity in China and Taiwan alike are going to come together for a drama based on the Japanese manga, “Zettai Kareshi” (translated title = “Absolute Boyfriend”). Who could these people be? They are none other than the beautiful singer, Jolin Tsai, and the handsome Wu Zun (who is equally famous for acting and his position in the idol group “Fahrenheit”)! (I know, I could easily be an English correspondent for a Taiwanese paper. I tried my best to copy the style LOL 😉 )

Jolin Tsai Wu Zun

Here is an excerpt from an Asian Fanatics article:

As the male lead of the drama “Absolute Boyfriend” Wu Zun will be acting a challenging role. The main lead is a robot therefore Wu Zun must express feelings without using too much body language or too many expressions. He can only rely on his eyes and tone of voice. Wu Zun has never attempted this before, but is happy to accept the challenge, make new breakthroughs in his acting and allow the fans to see a different side to him.

Another focus of attention for this drama is singer Jolin Tsai. In recent years, Jolin has concentrated on her singing and dancing career. The fans have forgotten that more than six years ago Jolin and Show Luo (Xiao Zhu) worked together on “Hi! Working Girl”. Jolin is in the entertainment circle and quite different from that time and full of confidence. In addition, Jolin has gained experience in shooting MVs and filming drama. In addition to the wonderful story of the original comic book, another idol drama with King Wu Zun will make great achievements!

Written by author Watase Yu and originally published in 2003, Absolute Boyfriend is about a boyfriend who has everything a girl wants. The comic book is about the love operations between a fussy young woman and a robot boyfriend. There are arguments, joy, moving moments and the human feelings go on from here. The new series will soon be announced, hoping that you will look forward to it.

Source: Baidu; Translation: englishrose85 @ http://asianfanatics.net

In other words, they’re saying Jolin Tsai has very little acting experience XD But I don’t care. Some of the best trendy Taiwanese dramas have really questionable acting (in my opinion, at least). With a crazy and outlandish plot, I think it’s only necessary to have just enough acting experience. If the story/writing/etc. is a step above the acting, it almost evens out. But I’m always ready to be proven wrong (as far as acting goes; I’m open to good acting any day of the week). After all, I haven’t seen every trendy Taiwanese drama in existence.

And I haven’t even seen much of Wu Zun’s acting, even though I know he’s been in a lot. He’s super popular though, so that might be an indication of his acting… but maybe not. Someone should inform me!

But I am getting away from the point, and the point is that it will be interesting to see a new take on the series. I thought the Japanese drama was pretty entertaining, so an even longer Taiwanese version should be great.

Edit: UH, sorry for my former stupidness. I have NO idea why I had the wrong person in the image for Wu Zun. I KNOW WHO HE IS, that’s the saddest part.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2009 2:25 pm

    wow I didn’t know that they were making a t-version of it. and I Love Wu chun I am sooo going to try watching this. I hope the acting will be good. but the jap. version will always be in my heart, also the manga is still the best so far!

  2. KIYOSHI permalink
    June 22, 2009 4:07 am

    i LIKE THE ORIGINAL,.. BUT IT’S NICE THAT WU CHUN TOOK THE CHALLENGE TO BE NIGHT TENJO

  3. ecyor permalink
    August 30, 2009 12:53 am

    cool….

    i like the manga series of absolute boyfriend, i never expected that chun and night tenjou will be as one! chun is my favorite asian actor; night, just a character that i wish to have……

    can’t wait to watch it!

  4. October 13, 2010 2:58 am

    Sorry, guys, the girl who will act as Riiko in taiwan absolute boyfriend is not already Jolin. It’s Koo Hye Sun of Boys over flowers, the news is already confirmed last October 5, 2010

Leave a Reply

