Skip to content

Favorite K-Pop Songs of 2008 – Part 2

January 25, 2009

I can’t believe the level of my laziness. I’m still posting about favorite songs of 2008 when the first month of 2009 is almost over! I even wrote this a few weeks ago… I just didn’t feel like putting it online yet. OH WELL! It’s never too late to talk about fun songs, is it? I don’t think so.

SO, I already talked about my “favorite-favorite”, unembarrassing favorite K-pop songs of 2008 here, and now it’s time for me to talk about my more crazy favorites. Alright, so pop is pop, but you have to admit that there is a difference between the music that ~touches~ your soul and the music that makes you want to get up and dance. This set of songs is the latter. I am a sucker for songs that make me feel happy; I mean, really, there is nothing like a funky song that makes you laugh and smile to yourself because it doesn’t take itself too seriously. I also find myself tickled (yes, tickled) by songs that are all, “I’m awesome!” because… what the heck, seriously! “I’m so hot,” “I drive you crazy,” “10 points out of 10 points,” and so on… these lyrics are all so. freaking. hilarious. And the music is addicting too.

Anyway, here are my humble and my almost-nonsensical reviews. When it comes to music like this, logic goes out the window.

2008 Favorites Part 2

  1. SHINee – 아.미.고. [Amigo]: For some reason I never get tired of this song. Honestly, when I first heard “AMIGO,” I didn’t think it was that great. The beat was good, but idk… It seems a little repetitive and unexciting. But I can listen to it over and over and over and I love it more each time. Okay, it’s not the deepest song in the world, but it’s such a great song to do anything to. Personally, I love blowing my hair dry to this song. LMAO, that sounds so frickin’ weird, but you should try it! Plus, I can’t tell you how many times I want to break out (nonsensically), “HAJIMAN SEXYYYY!” LMAO.

    The “AMIGO” dance is so entrancing, I swear. I remember hardly any of the moves when I take my eyes away from the performance screen, but I do recollect that fascinating, energetic feeling the dance gives. Honestly, it’s like an aerobic workout! And better yet, the guys of SHINee sound almost as good as they do on their CD while doing it. That in itself is an amazing feat. I actually haven’t seen anyone else comment on this dance, but I personally love it.

  2. Wonder Girls – So Hot: OMGGG, this song is the most fun EVER. You can’t deny it. Any song that gets me to learn some/all of it’s lyrics (particularly if it’s in another language lol) has to be good in my book, whether it has true “quality” or not.

    The dance for “So Hot” is the ultimate in fun. It’s very girly, and fits with the song theme well. I am not usually a fan of girl dances because they tend to take either “sexy” or “cute” over the top, but neither the song nor the dance takes itself seriously, so I can handle it.

  3. Big Bang – 뷹은 노을 [Sunset Glow]: UGH, I love this song way too much. I don’t think it’s AS good as their other singles, but it’s so addicting and happy; I honestly can’t figure out how some people DON’T like it. The lyrics are killer. They’re sad, but who can’t love this line?: “I love you / you’re the only one in the world.” It’s one of those songs that will be able to cheer me up WHENEVER. The dance for this song is basically to die for. It’s beyond cute.

    AND WHO CAN NOT LOVE THE DANCE FOR THIS SONG? My favorite move has to be, “I love you girl.” This is actually the first dance that I just randomly realized I knew without paying too much attention. It’s so easy and I love it.

  4. Dong Bang Shin Ki – 주문 (MIROTIC): I can’t get enough of this song, seriously. I think if there is anything that keeps this song from being 100% is its repetitive nature. It used to bother me, but I’ve heard it enough now to look past this. I can listen to this single song on repeat for HOURS. I think my best record is three hours? And then I did it again later. It’s just that good. I can’t even think of more words to describe it.

    LOVE the dance for this song. The rap “chin” dance will go down in history.

  5. Big Bang – Number 1: This song isn’t technically Korean, but it might as well be. The pronunciation is BRILLIANT though, so it’s an iffy call. Whatever. I love this song. It needs to be on some kind of list, and I’m pretty sure I’m only doing a Korean song list this year.

    The beat is really great. It’s different from Big Bang’s regular style, but the great part is that it’s still Big Bang. I really enjoy all of the different levels of the song. The rapping is fun, the falsetto is awesome, and the chorus sounds good. The lyrics are really shallow, but you can’t deny the catchiness of this song XD

    I don’t have much impression of the dance, but I think it’s good every time I see it!

  6. 2PM – 10점 만점에 10점 [10 Out of 10]: THIS SONG IS SO FREAKING HILARIOUS! It gets like twenty thousand brownie points for that (and let’s not even get started on the video; it’s so funny). This song reminds me a lot of Wonder Girls’ “So Hot” because it doesn’t take itself seriously. I love that once in a while. It’s addicting as heck too.

    And I looove the dance for this song. It’s extremely entertaining to watch.

  7. SS501 – 널 부르는 노래 (Remix) [A Song Calling for You]: This song (well, this and “Deja Vu”) got me interested in SS501. I wasn’t (and still am not) a fan of their debut stuff, but this song has a completely different flavor. It’s cute and fun and really great.

    Once again, the dance for this song is so freaking fun. When I heard that this song had a “Tell Me” feel, I knew I had to check it out because even though the “Tell Me” dance is weird, it’s really amusing and entertaining. I love that in dances. I still think it’s crazy (or was) to see five handsome guys doing such a childish dance, but there is something refreshingly Asian about that, don’t you think?

  8. Lee Hyori – U-Go-Girl (Feat Nassun): I think Hyori found her perfect style in this song. It’s not vocally straining, and it’s cute and fun and sassy. It reminds me of something from a musical. There is a “production” quality about it. ANYWAY, it’s not the best song in the world, but I enjoy listening to it. It’s got a cute message and it’s fun to watch.

    The dance for this song is incredibly addicting and fantastic.

  9. Uhm Jung Hwa – D.I.S.C.O (Feat. TOP): This song makes me so nostalgic *3* SUMMER! But really, it’s the epitome of fun. There is absolutely nothing serious about it, which is AWESOME. It’s probably a bit repetitive (which I regret), but it makes for a good “mindless” listen. My favorite part (am I biased? y/y?) has to be TOP’s cameo. It’s WAY too short, but it breaks up the songs monotony and makes it that much better.

    Haha, the dance for this song is crazy and way too hard for an uncoordinated person like me to do, but it’s really amusing to watch.

  10. Son Dambi – Crazy (Featuring Eric):This song actually tied with a lot of others, but I wound up choosing it because it was a rather recent hit. It’s a pretty mediocre song, but listening to it is fun. My favorite part is the chorus lol ^^

    And of course, Son Dambi is famous for her “chair” dance. I guess it’s a pretty snazzy dance, so it deserves recognition.

Leave a Reply

