Skip to content

“Boys Before Flowers” Commentary – Episode 13

March 2, 2009

I feel so freaking LUCKY that I get to watch several episodes in a row. IT’S EXCITING! And as bad as I feel that they had to slow production for the health of Gu Hyesun, it makes it easier for people like me to catch up lol. I think I will actually be really disappointed once I do catch up haha.

And how crazy is it that if this were a “regular drama,” I’d be almost finished with it? Episode 13, eh? In a sixteen episode drama, the finish line would be in sight. THANK GOODNESS THIS IS NOT A REGULAR DRAMA! I’m actually INCREDIBLY happy and pleased about how the production team has been handling all of this. They’ve taken their time with the story, yet it hasn’t gotten TRULY boring yet. Sure, there have been some slow moments, but I’m grateful that I’m not forcing myself to get through scenes or episodes.

Fangirltainment - Boys Before Flowers Commentary

Episode 13. Spoilers!

Boys Before Flowers - Episode 13 (1)

SDfljsdlkjds, I knew this would happend D: JP’s dad (Gu Bon Hyung) has died. This is bad news, man. Bad news for Junpyo and Jandi. No more goofing around for them.

awlejrlekawjflsdkfj WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF

IT HAS BEEN HALF. A FREAKING. YEAR?!

Holy SMOKES, I can understand this ploy but DANG YOU, DRAMA. I HATE IT WHEN TIME PASSES SO FAST. And Junpyo hasn’t contacted Jandi at all? According to Ga Eul, that’s the case. “No matter how busy or tired, he should have called.” Poor Jandi 😦 She hasn’t been contacting F4 either.

(I should honestly be remembering some of this from the J-drama, but I guess I try not to so I can have a fresh perspective. But after watching this episode, I can say that like it a bit better how they’re dealing with this issue in the Korean drama.)

Seriously, how depressing is this? Even though I knew it was coming, I’m still sad. The last episode was so feel-good in the sense that Jandi and Junpyo got closer, and Junpyo even said he loved Jandi (albeit in a text lol). It’s just stressful entering this new phase, even though I know where it will possibly go. Either way, I shouldn’t worry too much. I actually liked season two more in the J-drama, so I should try to keep that in mind. Just because things are changing, it doesn’t mean that it has to be entirely bad change.

That cranky grandfather is back, and it sounds like he’s become a regular. I wonder who he is! Ahhh, he is…? Someone famous from the Blue House? A president? (Actually, I guess he was. Reading other stuff about this episode has enlightened me some about this guy lol.)

LOL, Kang Sang is so adorable. It’s funny that he made a cat that looks like Junpyo XD Of course, Junpyo is a touchy subject in the house… 😦

Is Jandi’s shoulder hurt? It might be nothing, but I wonder if it has any significance.

WTF? Why did Jandi just scream after a phone call?! Did her dad get a job? (Yes… it’s surprising that it’s taken all this time for him to get one. I mean, not shocking, but I wonder if this is what they’re trying to illustrate.)

Boys Before Flowers - Episode 13 (2)

LMFAO, Jihoo further proves his musical ability by conducting an orchestra. That is so RANDOM. (I still crack up looking back on this scene. I mean, I guess it doesn’t make sense to have Jihoo go into business, but having him go into music is just funny for whatever reason.)

Haha, Jihoo just caught Jandi’s mom when she was slipping. (What the heck is this scene supposed to do? Get Jandi’s mom to like Jihoo more? Maybe in the future she’ll try pushing Jihoo on Jandi.)

I guess Jandi’s shoulder IS injured. And here comes Jihoo! Have they seen each other for a while? (It seems that they have sort of kept in touch, but not as much as they used to.)

The other guys from F4 haven’t contacted Junpyo either. They’re recording a video! Poor Jandi is put on the spot. Aw, she’s crying! (This scene is really touching. You can tell that Jandi really misses Junpyo. It’s also sweet when Jihoo tries to cheer her up with the piano.)

Boys Before Flowers - Episode 13 (3)

Oh, what’s Ga Eul doing going to Yijung’s house? LOL, She was watching him do his pottery stuff and then he came out with, “Am I that handsome?” DSLfjdlsjf (I think this scene was decent, but am I the only one who thinks Ga Eul’s reason for seeing Yijung was really lame? I mean, even if she is concerned about Junpyo and Jandi, it’s weird for her to just show up at Yijung’s to talk about it. It’s not likely that he’ll ever be in the mood to discuss his friend’s love life in-depth.)

Curious… the grandfather seems unsettled by the sight of Jihoo. (LMAO, I did start guessing about the connection between the two of them at this point, but I haven’t really paid attention to minor details Jihoo has thrown out about his life, so I didn’t consider the fact that he hasn’t seen his grandfather in a long time. Or that he was a president.)

Boys Before Flowers - Episode 13 (4)

Ah, Jihoo took Jandi to get her shoulder checked. OHHH, she has sustained an injury from when the chair hit her shoulder! WHOA. Does this mean she can’t swim anymore? She can’t 😦 UGH, way to make things even more sad.

I freaking love Jihoo sometimes. He is the most awesome friend. Now that we’re further into the drama, I can definitely see him being paired with Jandi more than ever. I still prefer Junpyo, but Jihoo is very sweet and good for Jandi. DARN YOU, DRAMA. I AM PLAYING RIGHT INTO YOUR HANDS!

OH, so I wonder if that grandfather who comes to the shop is JIHOO’S grandfather. (Yeah…)

Seohyun has come back into conversation! For the first time in a while, actually. (Symbolism? Yes/no?)

LOL at the drama Jandi’s family is watching. It has the exact scene from when Jandi was trying to convince Jihoo to go after Seohyun. Hmm, it looks like Jandi is doing some calculating in her head. She is missing Junpyo, and she could visit him. So that is what she will do, eh?

Boys Before Flowers - Episode 13 (5)

LMFAO, F3 ARE HELPING THEM SELL PORRIDGE! I don’t even know why they have these kinds of things happen in the drama, but it’s fun to see these guys sell stuff… I guess? Haha.

LOL, Jihoo looks a little strange after talking to “Master.” (I guess Master knows him from the past.)

Is Jandi going for a final swim? IDK, this episode is confusing me some. I guess it’s something along those lines, because Ga Eul is crying. She is a good friend!

ealaewjflfad Yijung just offered her his handkerchief!

Okay, so they’re calling it a retirement ceremony. That is so COOL. I mean, it’s really sweet of them to do that. Closure is always good.

Ah, so Jandi is now in Macau. (I will now proceed to be very short and incoherent…)

OMG, her English is so cute. I love her hair too! Actually, her whole outfit is adorable.

OF COURSE, they have to have a scene where the two (JD/JP) completely pass each other by. UGHHH. SHE SEES HIM AND HE DOESN’T HEAR HER!

Boys Before Flowers - Episode 13 (6)

ASFKSDFSDKJFSDLJ I just saw… someone… who I know… I mean, I know which character that is. And she dropped something!

THIS GIRL IS KICK BUTT, SERIOUSLY! She is awesome D: I say “D:” because it’s like… bittersweet that she’s awesome. Don’t ask me why D:<

LMFAO, she called Jandi “honey.” I love her.

Her name is “Jae Kyung.” Need to remember that XD Jandi didn’t get to give her name though.

Boys Before Flowers - Episode 13 (7)

IT’S JUNPYO! OMG! With some other lady D:

HE SAW HER OMGGGGG! ASDFLSDJFLDSFJDLSKFJDS HEART BREAK

I DON’T EVEN HAVE WORDS FOR THIS SITUATION 😦 😦

Boys Before Flowers - Episode 13 (8)

And this next situation, TOTALLY WTF. How does Jandi get in such messes? She calls out for Gu Junpyo, but I don’t think that’s who is helping her 😦 It’s F3! Where the heck did they even come from lol? (I HAVE NO WAY TO EVEN COMMUNICATE HOW FUNNY I THINK IT IS THAT JANDI ALWAYS HAS KNIGHTS IN SHINING ARMOR.)

Lol at Woobin speaking Chinese. “Yeah~” XD

Ah, I don’t know what to say! I’m just kind of melancholy watching this. I’m really glad Jandi can have fun with F3 though. But the poor thing is still remembering that haunting look from Junpyo.

WHAT A FREAKING DOWNER. Even watching the preview has me sad.

Ugh, and I’m sorry I totally crapped up this commentary, but there wasn’t actually that much to comment on, you know? This was one of those episodes were a lot has transpired, but not all that much has happened. It’s just furthering the story. In this case, it’s bringing you up to speed on how things are now.

You can tell throughout this time they are really pushing the Jandi/Jihoo vibe. And it’s hard to resist, actually. Especially when Junpyo appears to be a giant butthead.

My heart hurts about how quickly Junpyo has distanced himself from everyone, but you can’t blame the guy. His father has just died, and he now has a ridiculous amount of responsibility placed on him. He is in a position where he only hears one kind of advice–the kind his mother wants him to hear. That, paired with a lot of pressure, can definitely cause a person to change. I think that deep down, Junpyo is the same person (despite what he says in the preview). We’ll just have to see this all resolve somehow, because you know it will!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

