Skip to content

Featured song: “사랑밖에 난 몰라” or “I Only Know Love”

March 19, 2009

(I wrote this article almost two weeks ago, but since things got busy I wasn’t able to finish it.)

Anyone who is watching Boys Before Flowers right now will probably be able to recognize “사랑밖에 난 몰라” (sometimes translated to “I Only Know Love,” “I Know Nothing But Love,” or, “All I Know Is Love”). It has been used several times in the show, mostly as tune Jihoo and Jandi play around with on the piano. However, there is a crucial scene in episode 15 that dedicates several minutes to this song.

Gu Hyesun as Geum Jandi on Boys Before Flowers

After hearing the song with the lyrics on the show, I kind of fell in love with this song. The lyrics are so simple and beautifully honest.

The moment you stood by my side,
I love that look in your eye
Yesterday I cried, but because of you today
I’ll be happy tomorrow
It’s not your face or style
But your soft loving I needed
To forget the past
Without you, I can’t do anything anymore
I only know love

This song was originally released by Shim Soo Bong in the 80s. There are two versions by her floating around, only one which I have. The one I have is rather upbeat and trot-ish–it’s okay, but it’s not my style. There is another one I can’t find anywhere that is slow and melancholy (hear a clip of it on imeem–if you have this, please share!). Shim Soo Bong doesn’t have an extremely smooth voice, but it works very well with the tone of the song.

I think music wise, I love Joo Jihoon singing this song in Naked Kitchen. He sings the first verse in heavily accented French, but switches to Korean for the “I only know love,” line. Unfortunately, I only have a video-rip of this part of the movie, and it’s a rather short bit. I wish they included this song on the soundtrack! Maybe we can get a better rip (at least!) when this movie comes out on DVD. I loveee this version though. The music is amazing.

Probably my all-over favorite would be the one I have by Horan of Clazziquai. She did it along with Dave Koz, who is a pretty famous saxophonist. If you don’t know it already, Horan has a GORGEOUS voice. It’s PERFECT for this song. I’m beyond pleased that she was a part of David Koz’s cover. My only gripe is the music; while Dave Koz is an excellent saxophonist, I’m not the biggest saxophone fan. It just adds a major lounge-y feel to a song that could do without it. Despite my saxophone dislike, this song is really amazing.

Anyway, I just wanted to share this song with you if you haven’t heard it yet. You may have to get in touch with your sentimental side to enjoy it fully, but it’s worth it. I have listened to it (collectively) over 200 times in the past two weeks. It’s that good.

Shim Soo Bong – 사랑밖에 난 몰라 [I Only Know Love] : fast version
Joo Jihoon – 사랑밖에 난 몰라 : video rip
Horan & Dave Koz – 사랑밖에 난 몰라

Edit: Lee Sun Hee – 사랑밖에 난 몰라 : thanks to commenter Swei for this upload. This may be my favorite version yet! It’s soft and lovely.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. swei permalink
    March 25, 2009 7:17 am

    i know this song in the Boys Before Flowers too, but actually, I totally fell in love with this song after Naked Kitchen. [meme si Joo Jihoon chant pas bien francais, avec son accent, je connais que quelque mot,”vous etes pres de moi, je souviens de la…”lol]
    For this, i think this song originally was a french song. 🙂 but i can’t finded with some short words 😦
    anyway, i also have lee sun hee version, her piano version, so great,
    link below
    [audio src="http://m.imdj.net/157/7039/20070620118237021715.wma" /]

  2. March 25, 2009 10:43 am

    AMAZING! Thank you. The Lee Sunhee version is gorgeous.

    The Naked Kitchen version is so amazing. I haven’t seen the movie yet, but the song makes me want to.

  3. judy permalink
    March 28, 2009 2:32 pm

    I fell in love with this song, thanks to the drama, and am loving all the different versions out there. Unfortunately, I don’t know Korean, but would love to learn how to sing this song. Is there a place where I can get the lyrics fitted to English so I can learn?

  4. March 28, 2009 6:26 pm

    Here is a romanized version of the song by kimt08@soompi:

    “geudae naegyeote seon sungan
    geu nunbichi neomu joha
    eojeneun ureotjiman
    oneureun dangsinttaeme
    naeireun haengbokhalgeoya

    eolguldo ani meotdo aniani
    budeureoun sarangmani pillyohaesseoyo
    jinagan sewolmodu ijeobeorige
    dangsineobsi amugeotdo ijen
    halsueobseo sarangbakke nan molla-

    musimhi beoryeojin nal wihae
    ureojudeon dan hansaram
    keodaran eokkaewie
    gidaego sipeunkkumeul
    dangsineun kkaeji marayo

    inareul eonjena gidaryeowasseoyo
    seoreoun sewolmankeum anajuseyo
    geuriun baramcheoreom sarajilkkabwa
    saranghada heeojimyeon dasi
    bogosipgo dangsini neomu joha”

    I don’t know if you can read Hangul or not, but it doesn’t take too long to learn. I still can’t read it very fast, but it helps to know certain things when you do read romanizations. For instance, in Korean, “S” can sometimes sound like “Sh.” “P” and “B” often make an interchangeable sound, as do “D” and “T.” The same goes for “L” and “R,” believe it or not! I know that’s not everything, but when I was looking over this romanization I noticed that it could be hard to follow. If you just go along with the song, I’m sure it will be fine. Good luck!

  5. April 26, 2009 9:29 am

    i really love this song…..it sounds so sad 😦

  6. Saera permalink
    May 21, 2009 10:57 pm

    hellows:) i have the slow piano version by her (the clip on imeem) ^^ if you want it message me on my youtube or something bcause i dont want too give out my email here =)

    http://www.youtube.com/mochibao

  7. lannie permalink
    June 2, 2009 1:42 am

    what is the french version called??

  8. June 2, 2009 12:27 pm

    I’m not sure what the French version is called. I think it has the same title, because in the movie “Naked Kitchen,” it is only translated into French from Korean.

  9. simply_eve permalink
    December 29, 2009 11:48 pm

    since i heard this song in BOF, i started learning it…and its funny how my korean friends tease me everytime we go to a noraebang, since they say its a very old song, but a very very beautiful old song…

  10. fay permalink
    January 28, 2010 10:26 pm

    do u guys know the lyrics???
    i need it….
    the song was so great…
    i love it…
    please…

  11. Nana permalink
    April 24, 2010 5:05 pm

    Hi ! Do you perhaps know which Shim Soo Bong album the 사랑밖에 난 몰라 song comes from? I’ve been searching all over the Internet for the name of the album and I can’t seem to find it…

    I’ve seen the Naked Kitchen as well, and when Jihoon sings, it’s simply breathtaking. I’ve also listened to the one performed by Horan, who does have a very beautiful voice.

    If you can provide this information for me, I’d be very happy. n__n;

  12. Maddy permalink
    August 8, 2010 7:15 pm

    Hi, you said that they don’t include the song on the Naked Kitchen soundtrack, but they do. It’s number 18. And yes – it’s the Joo Jihoon version.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?tzmfzzrj02z

    • August 8, 2010 10:17 pm

      I didn’t know that! Thanks so much for letting me know and sharing the soundtrack.

Leave a Reply

