Skip to content

Featured song: Nell’s “멀어지다” or “Drifting Apart”

March 24, 2009

My favorite song right now is “멀어지다” (it has multiple translated titles–“Drifting Apart,” “Becoming Distant,” “Getting Further,” and “Recede”) by Nell. It’s one of those sleeper songs that gets you right after you think, “This song is pretty boring.” Do you do that too? Almost every time I start thinking a track is too slow and solemn, it suddenly grabs me and I can’t stop listening to it.

It’s very poingant. It doesn’t have that many lines in it, but each one is filled with straining emotion. I also love that the lyrics are simple enough for me to grasp after a few times. Since I can recognize certain words, it’s easy to string together the meaning, and I LOVE being able to listen to a Korean song without constantly referencing translations. I don’t want simple lyrics all the time, but it’s fun to be able to easily sing a long once in a while.

What are we to do?
We’re both in pain,
We’re both drifting apart
What are we to do?
We’re both becoming more and more sad,
We’re both drifting apart

For us, could it be possible that it wasn’t love
But just a deep attachment
For us, it probably wasn’t love but only greed

What are we to do?
We’re both silent,
We’re both drifting apart

For us, could it be possible that it wasn’t love
But just a deep attachment
For us, it probably wasn’t love but only greed

For us, could it be possible that it wasn’t destiny
But just an accident
For us, it probably isn’t eternity but only til here…

Credit: http://flyingcrispi.wordpress.com/

I’m slowly making my way through Nell’s discography. They are simply amazing.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2009 6:31 am

    hellow can i ask u 4 this video???
    “Boys Before Flowers – Yesterday (Jun-pyo/Jan-di) (ENG SUBS)”

    ahmmm
    if i can download it???
    pls
    ..
    can u???
    just send me a message on my YOUTUBE ACCOUNT???

    tnx in advance 🙂

  2. June 7, 2009 6:32 am

    this is my account in
    youtube

    “http://www.youtube.com/user/snsdMihmai”

Leave a Reply

