Skip to content

Vote “yes” for humanity

March 27, 2009

Gender

I’m really sick of a certain trend I have been seeing all over the K-pop fandom–or rather, from the rude people of the K-pop fandom. Why, in the name of all that is good, do people keep calling guys they think are seemingly feminine WOMEN? This is not only a childish thing to do, but a demeaning thing to do. I find it extremely un-funny. Furthermore, there is so much homophobia all over the place whenever a guy does seem to lean the other way. Whether you support gay rights or not, I think it’s completely wrong to make rude comments that dehumanize homosexuals.

I mean, I know that Korea is pretty quiet when it comes to homosexuality, but I know a lot of English speaking fans live in more liberal nations. Shouldn’t we have learned by now that it’s wrong to degrade someone for their beliefs? There are better ways to argue your case. Seriously, people. It’s never a sign of intelligence to strip someone of their humanity, whether they are “right” or “wrong” in your eyes. I just don’t find so-called joking about certain topics to be a matter of amusement. Things such as race and sexuality should be taken a little more seriously (not to mention a number of other topics).

Don’t you agree? If you don’t, feel free to plead your case. My point here is that even if we are ridiculous, crazy, and air-headed fans over most aspects over fandom (and I am definitely all of that and more), we should stand up intelligently when it comes to serious matters of life. We shouldn’t hide behind our aliases and hurtfully bash groups of people simply because it makes a few fourth graders laugh. Let’s vote “yes” for humanity. Even when it comes to K-pop.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolee permalink
    March 28, 2009 10:23 am

    I agree with what you’re saying..but can you give examples? Im not being rude or anything, I just to be more informed in what you’re talking about

  2. March 28, 2009 11:51 am

    What do you want examples of? In the Kpop fandom, a lot of the guys in Super Junior get slammed for seeming gay or feminine, especially Heechul. Jo Kwon of 2 AM is another guy who tends to get harassed over and over for his mannerisms, which do indicate that he could potentially be gay (although no one can know for sure). Seungri of Big Bang gets targeted from time to time, and I actually don’t get this one. Even if people don’t like him–if they find that he is too arrogant, short, annoying, or whatever–I don’t count that reason to say that he is a “woman.” But maybe I’ve “missed” something.

    If you want to see proof of these comments, just look these people up on English Kpop sites that like to serve up their articles with an extra dose of snark. There are plenty of other people who get labeled “feminine” or “gay,” but I just listed some people that immediately come to my mind. Even if they are in-the-closet gays, the idea that they are shouldn’t bring about extra abuse. Without outright naming the source, here is one thing I recently saw:

    “I’ve never been attracted to Jo Kwon of 2AM, since I’m not a lesbian…”

    I just think it’s uncalled for. Even if Jo Kwon was gay, he would not be a woman. It’s demeaning to joke about.

  3. sevnrock permalink
    April 7, 2009 5:02 pm

    the fad is taking over. the age of muscle men is diminishing. take a look at some recent Prada ads for example, lol.

    i completely agree with you though – disapproving of one’s sexuality is simply immature in this modern society. most adults do not care. i do not care. teenagers, children and people that do not grow up gain personal excitement through the feeling of bashing an individual for his sexuality.

    i just deal with it.

  4. April 7, 2009 9:12 pm

    I definitely think it’s great when guys play up their masculinity, and I think most heterosexual guys would say the same about girls (females and femininity). However, I think we all like having the option to do whatever we want. I love being girly, but whenever a guy starts saying girls should be this way or that way, I don’t like that at all. I feel like guys should have the option to be muscle-less if the want to 😉 But I get what you’re saying, definitely.

Leave a Reply

