Skip to content

“Customer Service” translation

April 10, 2009
tags:

This is a pretty lame post. It’s essentially just to feed my curiosity ^^;;

I’m trying to get a solid translation of Epik High’s “Customer Service” skit, because it cracks me up with what little knowledge I have of Korean, and I would love to pinpoint more specifically what they’re saying with some help. I have no idea if there is a translation for it or not in the book because I don’t have it yet… still trying to get the money for my non-iTunes copy. I found a summarized translation of it on mapthesoul.com (which answered some questions about a few words I wasn’t positive about), but that’s it. Anyone want to help clean this up?

As as side note, I heard that the guy is supposed to be saying, “Hello,” in Chinese (Cantonese?), so that’s what I put it as. I’m not 100% on it though, so let me know what you think.

Translation so far:

Edit: Thanks to Sevnrock for some help with translation! Items with “*” are courtesy of this lovely person.

Tablo: I’m the top gun, I’m the top gun, competition–got none~
Tukutz? *Stretching* F***! [maybe lol]
Tablo: …uh, show me what you got, son…
Tukutz?: Let’s eattt!
Tablo: …I’m the top gun…
Tukutz: Mithra, ?? [maybe “what do you want to eat?” or something along those lines]
Mithra: CHICKEN!
*They play around with the word “chicken” in Korean*
Tablo: Yo, it’s the chicken? south?, baby, the chicken? south.
*Phone rings*
Tablo: Hey Mike (MYK), get the phone!
MYK: Yo, alright, hold up.
*Answers*
MYK: Hello?
Customer: Hello? Hello?
MYK: Hellooo… hello?
Customer: Hello… Hi, uh, I callin’ cause I order my t-shirt…
MYK: Wha… what?
Customer: …from mapthesoul.com but I still don’t get my t-shirt.
MYK: Nat King Cole? What?
Tablo: (Yo, who is it?)
Customer: Hello?
MYK: I don’t know, man. Hold up…
Customer: I want my t-shirt!
MYK: Wait, hold on a second…
Customer: Young man, I want my t-shirt!
MYK: (…it might be for you (Tablo).)
Tablo: Hello?
Customer: Hello? Young man, I want my t-shirt. Is this Tablo?
Tablo: H-hello?
Customer: Is this Tablo?
Tablo: Who is this?
Customer: Tablo, I want my t-shirt! I want my t-shirt with YOUR face on it!
Tablo: Is… is this a Korean person speaking?
Customer: Hellooo.
Tablo: (Hey, who the f* is this?)
Customer: Hello.
Tukutz: (*Making interrupting noises.*) Who is it? Who…
Tablo: Hello?
Customer: *Frustrated grunts.* Hello [“wei”–sounds like “why”].
Tablo: “Why,” what do you mean “why”?
Customer: I want my t-shirt.
Tablo: Hey, hold on.
Tukutz: Hello?
Customer: Mapthesoul.com so crazy! I want my t-shirt!
Tukutz: What?
Tablo: (Who is it?) *
Tukutz: (I don’t know.) *
Customer: Hello. Is this DJ Tukutz? I want my t-shirt. Tukutz, you selling your t-shirt? I want my t-shirt.
Tukutz: Excuse me, hello?
Tukutz: (I don’t think he’s speaking English…)
Customer: I want my product.
Tukutz: How are you? *
Customer: Hello. I want my product.
Tukutz: (Or is it “Who are you?” Haha.) *
Tablo: (*Laughing* “How are you…”)
Customer: Young man, young man, no joking! No more joking, do the right thing!
Tukutz: Mithra, you try [?], I don’t know.
Tablo: [Still talking about the “who/how” are you thing.]
Mithra: Hello?
Customer: Yo? Who is this man with the husky voice? I want my t-shirt.
Mithra: Eh?
Customer: T-SHIRT.
Mirthra: T-shirt??
Customer: Young man, young man, don’t shout at me. I want my t-shirt, you do the right thing.
Mithra: “Young man”?? Is he saying I’m young? What is this?
Customer: Oh my god, I want my t-shirt.
Mithra: Eh, what is this?! Hey hey hey, hey hey, shut the f* up!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sevnrock permalink
    April 16, 2009 12:57 pm

    Haha this is funny, not sure if someone corrected this already. it seems pretty much right with a few minor corrections! ***

    Tablo: (Ask who it is.) ***Who is it?
    Tukutz: (I’ll see.) ***I don’t know
    Customer: Hello. Is this DJ Tukutz? I want my t-shirt. Tukutz, you selling your t-shirt? I want my t-shirt.
    Tukutz: Excuse me, hello?
    Tukutz: (I don’t think he’s speaking English…)
    Customer: I want my product.
    Tukutz: Who are you? ***How are you?
    Customer: Hello. I want my product.
    Tukutz: ?? ***Or is it Who are you? Haha

  2. April 16, 2009 9:58 pm

    AWESOME, thank you!

Leave a Reply

