Skip to content

Review: 2NE1’s two ‘Fire’ MVs

May 5, 2009

2NE1’s two MVs for “Fire” has been released and they’re totally HOT.

I’m going to review the first version first (the “space” version).

I definitely like this MV. It’s very Big Bang-esque. It reminds me of a mix between “With U” and “Number 1.” What I enjoy most about this video is that it’s always moving; it’s never stagnant or boring. We’re seeing the girls decked out in headphones, we’re riding down the rode on CL’s bike, we’re in Bom’s eye, you know… that sort of thing. It’s entertaining. Let me talk about the girls individually now:

I don’t know if it’s intentional, but CL is so much like the female GD that it shocks me. I mean, even their names have the same feeling, don’t you think? She is a charismatic leader who packs a punch. I love her voice. It reminds me of Lexy, but it’s unique at the same time. I think her hair is less than flattering for most of the video, but it’s not terrible either.

Bom (it’s somehow hard to drop her surname) is so frickin’ gorgeous in this and I think she could draw a male crowd on her own. Even though her and Sandara (Dara~) are almost the same age, Bom has a slightly more mature feel… however, she has enough ‘innocence “in her look to allow her to belong to this group.

Minji (Minzi?) is pretty much cute for the time being. I think she’ll grab some more attention as she gets older, but she will probably own the magnae image fully for a few years (making a Big Bang comparison, it took Seungri some time to move to his “Strong Baby” image and I hardly think he’s fully there either). Despite her age, the girl can really move, and it’s clear that she has a lot of energy and other watchable qualities. She’s pretty commanding.

Dara is probably the most interesting member to me in a way because she has to overcome what people have previously seen from her. In the video alone, she looks both young and mature. It’s crazy. She actually rocks the “palm tree” hair though. I love her in the boa and ripped pants. I am happy to see that YG hasn’t allowed her to sound less than spectacular in this song. It’s easier to pinpoint her singing in the MV, and it seems like she owns a lot of the distorted-voice parts lol. I don’t think it’s a bad thing. I think she’s going to do better than “In Or Out” no matter what.

Overall, it’s a good video. It’s KIND OF all over the place, but in a good way. I think it makes it fun to watch.

Version two, the “street” version.

Link.

I kind of think it’s only expected that I’ll have less specific things to say about this one lol.

I love this version because it’s mostly dancing. I don’t know if you know this yet, but I LOVE videos with dancing! I mean, I like regular MVs too, but whenever there is a dancing-only version I kind of go ballistic. I’m really happy right now because I get BOTH with 2NE1’s two MVs.

I still don’t link this particular look for the girls, but it’s decent when it’s in motion.

I like the choreography A LOT because it’s feminine without being blatantly booty-shaking (okay, so there IS booty-shaking, but I personally find it more tasteful than some other dances). It has enough style and flair without making me frustrated that girls get the lame end of the dancing stick. Thank you very much, Shaun and Aimee!

Edit: LMFAO, did you know that G-Dragon makes a surprise appearance in this version? Check it out at 3:21. I think I caught it the first time I watched it, but I passed it off as nothing after it passed. This was pointed out at K Bites. It’s sooo funny. He definitely makes a face.

These really make me anticipate their promotional activities. Hopefully there are people out there who already plan on subbing for these girls. They definitely have this international fan as a follower, and I’m sure there are bound to be more.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

