Skip to content

Wonder Girls tease with English ‘Nobody’

June 15, 2009

As most of us know, Korea’s uber-popular Wonder Girls are set to make their US debut in a short while. They’re already slated to tour with the Jonas Brothers, and their English version of “Nobody” will be released on the 27th of this month.

Amazon.com has the album’s information up already, along with a brief preview of “Nobody.” We can only hear the two maknae sing, but it’s worth listening to for the sake of guessing how the whole song will turn out.

Sunmi actually sounds pretty decent. I think it’s really funny how they tried their best to disguise Sohee’s wavering voice; they did an okay job, but I could feel myself cringing a little when she ended the verse. I think the girl is completely adorable, but the two of us might be on level in a singing contest–that is saying an a lot because I can’t sing for anything.

It’s hard to judge a song completely before hearing it all the way through. 30-second previews don’t tell us as much as we’d like. For all we know, there could be a couple of bum notes and blaring accents just beyond the limits of what we’ve heard.

I hope for the best, however. Although I still feel like it’s a touch early to debut the Wonder Girls in the US, I think they’ll develop enough of a fan-base here to make JYP happy. And I have to say, Kpop artists are like gateway drugs: once you get into one, you find yourself searching for other and stronger brands.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2009 11:16 am

    I want nobody but you.

    I like “Wonder girl”. Nobody is very popular in Thailand. When i go clubbing almost of gals move like wonder girl in nobody.

  2. Helena Way permalink
    July 1, 2009 10:39 pm

    I think the Sohee girl? is not a good singer…
    and sunmi is okay…I think…you can’t say anything just listening 36 seconds of a song…

Leave a Reply

