Skip to content

Review: Big Bang’s ‘ガラガラ GO!!’ or ‘Gara Gara GO!!’ single

July 7, 2009

I finally got time to sit down and listen to Big Bang’s most recent Japanese single, “ガラガラ GO!!/Gara Gara GO!!,” which was released on the 8th. Here’s my quick review!

Big Bang - Gara Gara Go

  1. Gara Gara GO!!: I already wrote about this song when I reviewed the MV, but yeah, it’s great. It makes me so happy. That’s all there is to it. It has such a cheerful feeling, doesn’t it? B-I-G to the Bang~ It’s another good single from Big Bang. It’s definitely right up there with “With U” and “Number 1” for me. Their Japanese singles are definitely distinct from their Korean singles. They have a unique energy. Here is a link to a video with English subtitles–the lyrics aren’t complicated, but that’s a good thing in a way. It’s just plain fun, and a great summer song.
  2. Top of the World: There is a definite dance-feeling to this song. I like it! These guys never cease to surprise me with their music. They go from one style to the next, all while staying in their own Big Bang… realm (for lack of a better word). Ah, their Japanese music has an American flair, doesn’t it? You can hear it in the song. I don’t think it’s a bad thing, but I’m thinking it’s possibly what makes it different from their Korean stuff. Is this song over already? It ended fast! Well, my general feeling about it is that it’s a good song. Very chill. It fits the rest of the feel of the single, and when put with their “My Heaven” single it rounds out pretty nicely. (My only issue with this song is a funny one: “I’m on t-t-top of the ~werld~” lol. YB, you can do better!)
  3. Stylish: I kind of zoned out for this song when I heard the Korean lyrics, so I potentially missed something new added, but I doubt it. I still like this song, even if it was for promotion. Isn’t it weird how that happens? Both “Stylish” and “Lollipop” got crazy popularity and they weren’t even “real” songs.

Props to Big Bang for coming out with several solid Japanese-language tracks this summer! Remember when they used to get so much flack for doing English songs in Japan? Ugh, I hate arguments that are based on who is better in Japan (ie: Big Bang vs. DBSK), so hopefully this will put some things to rest. Fans will war, but if they have less differences to throw at each other, maybe we can have less fights.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

