Skip to content

Review: FT Island’s ‘Cross and Change’ album

July 19, 2009

I’m not a giant FT Island fan, but I do take an interest in their music. I actually was hugely tempted to get way into them at some point, but as soon as I heard how young they were I ran away. I’m halfway kidding. Halfway.

Anyway, I thought I’d check out their latest album, “Cross and Change,” because they always come out with something worth listening to. Here’s a quick review for you. I mean, it’s an album. I have to look into this.

MV for “바래/I Hope”

  1. 빙빙빙/Bing Bing Bing: The VIP in me giggles at the chorus (how can I not? It’s so close to “big big big bang bang bang”), but pushing that aside, this song is full of energy and has a great feel to it. The music is up and front and genuine–something that always sets FT Island apart.
  2. 바래/I Hope: I love the beginning for this song. It just screams of promise for a good listen. When the song picks up speed you kind of want to dance around LOL. No, even better: It makes you want to go on a road trip with the windows down. I love it. I am such a metaphorical person. I hope you know these descriptions are my best way of describing this to you. It’s a good single.
  3. 미우나고우나: !!! They brought in the harmonica. Way to cheese up a song! I’ll forgive them though. I love it when Hongki does that soulful singing that. I’m so technical~ but you know you love it too.
  4. 천사와 나무꾼: Omg, this song has such a light feel. I like it.
  5. 소녀를 만나다 (소나기): What a peaceful feeling track. I like the way it’s progressing so far. I could fault it for being a little corny in its guitar and such, but whateva. I like the alternation of vocals.
  6. 결혼해줘/Marry Me: Ooh, they’re switching it up with this song. It has a fun beat. It’s kind of danceable! Almost discoish? OH, this is “Marry Me.” I think it’s going to put put on mah playlist. I like it a lot. It’s a great song from them!
  7. 꼭은 아니더라도: I’m pretty intrigued by all of the different instruments used for this album. I hear a flute or something. I sense a ballad! A good ballad though.
  8. 첫눈에 알아: The tempo of this song is good. Happy sounding. What more to ask for? I love songs like this.
  9. 보내주기: I’m not QUITE running out of things to say, but maybe. I am just surfing the internet while the music runs in the background right now. It’s relaxing. This track fits that feeling.
  10. 못난이: Day by day~ I like how the song starts. It’s semi-rap. The song actually flows into a cool and interesting tune. It sticks out some from the ballads etc. on the album.
  11. 남의 속도 모르고: This is technically the last real song on this album because the “last” track is a version 2. And I have to say, I like the way they’re doing it. I’m totally feeling this song. It might be one of my favorites from the album!
  12. 바래/I Hope (Ver.2): I can’t figure out the difference on the first listen, but I like this song the more I hear it lol.

If this album was in a drama, it would be the nice person who’s in love with you but you just see as a good friend. That’s not a bad thing; it just means that it’s not the love of my life. It does mean it’s something I want to keep close, however. It’s another solid album from FT Island.

The MV for “I Hope” is cute, but does anyone else think it’s quite a lot like Wonder Girls’ “Nobody”? Whatever! They all look adorable in it, so who cares. I’m not a lover of Hongki’s hair color though. I sadly had a dream in which I overheard people saying, “It would have been so great if he didn’t look like a clown!” LOL. I take fandom so very srsly, people.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2009 7:24 pm

    I’m pretty much in agreement about the album. There are some songs that rock, and some that rock slightly less so.

  2. amulet permalink
    August 10, 2009 8:26 am

    Your review was really interesting! I almost agreed with everything you wrote about in the individual song review 😀 I think the difference between I Hope (Ver.2) is clarity in the instrument sounds, it is slightly louder and more rockish than the original ver. haha I think lol

Trackbacks

  1. Things I Love Tuesday //07-03 « Living Creatively Ever After

Leave a Reply

