Skip to content

Review: ‘Hanazakari no Kimitachi e’ special

July 20, 2009

Ever since I heard that they were coming out with a special for Hanazakari no Kimitachi e, I’ve had it on my list to watch… and it came out in October. Why I haven’t I seen it yet? Because I forgot about it! LOL! I only recently remembered to check and see if it was out, and I was hitting myself in the head when I realized it came out forever ago.

hanakimisp_01 hanakimisp_02

I typically hate specials because I wind up watching them shortly after the drama (because I’m always behind). They always recap everything to death and there is hardly anything new to watch. With the Hana Kimi special, however, I had fun. I liked watching it because it’s been so long since I’ve seen the original drama in all its glory. Plus, it didn’t recap half as much as other drama specials do–it only reminded me of what I needed to know to be in on the new story. It reminded me how much awkward is in this series, but it alternately recalled lots of laughter and “aw” moments.

I thought having a sort of “inserted” story was an unusual concept. For those who don’t know, for this special they created a “flashback” sort of thing which turns out to be episode “7 1/2.” They had up-to-date material as well, but the focus was on a few things that supposedly happened between episodes 7 and 8 of the original series.

hanakimisp_03 hanakimisp_04

All in all, I found it to be an enjoyable watch. It was a little long at two hours (shocking I feel that way; I know!), but I was entertained for the most part. I fast-forwarded through a few unbearably painful scenes (involving one blonde-wigged someone), but cheerfully sat through the rest. The Sano/Mizuki stuff was cute, needless to say. It was cheesy as heck, but cute. Nakatsu also remains one of my favorite fictional people, thanks to Ikuta Toma.

I think fans of the original series will be happy with this special if they don’t set the bar too high. Just think of it as deleted scenes or something and you won’t get upset by the “filler” feeling of the new footage.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2009 7:55 am

    ZOMG. thanks to you i remember that hana kimi has a special! i’ve long given up on specials because, like you said, it’s just recaps that any other fanvid can do—i watched proposal daisakusen (pi and nagasawa), last friends (ryo) and absolute boyfriend (mocomichi)—and got absolutely nothing.. specials just do nothing to the original. anyways! so excited! love toma! & shun, of course. where did you watch hana kimi sp?

  2. July 21, 2009 10:51 am

    I think the only other specials I have seen that compare are the “Nodame Cantabile” specials. Those were totally worth it as well.

    I actually downloaded it. I got it through a torrent on d-addicts.com.

Leave a Reply

