Skip to content

Shake up summer, Engrish style

July 30, 2009

I need to be packing for vacation (head’s up: I’ll do my best to update, but I won’t be back until Sunday), but I had to continue my newly born series! As promised, here is the next part of my “shake up summer” articles.

shakeupsummer

Today I’m going to bring you a lot of old clips that involve cracktastic English. Who doesn’t love it when their favorite stars try their hand at this language? Sometimes (re: most times) they don’t perfectly convey their meaning, but the joy and the heart behind it will undoubtedly bring a smile to your face.

By the way, this is not meant to be offensive at all. I know how ridiculously hard it is to learn a language you didn’t grow up speaking. I admire all of these people for their hard work in every way, including English-learning. I just think they’re cute for they’re little mistakes.

Arashi’s Aiba speaking English: If you have not seen this video yet you have not lived. It is the joy of my life. Most of the footage is from a show called “Tensai! Shimura Doubutsuen,” in which Arashi’s Aiba helps out at a zoo? I can’t remember where. Anyway, he speaks a lot of English and it’s so. frickin. adorable. VERY DANGER! Even though I’m really not super into J-pop, I have a fondness for Arashi (although I don’t keep up with them). In this case, you don’t even need to know who Arashi or Aiba is to fall in LOVE with everything about this compilation of clips (although I’m sure it won’t hurt). IDK. I fail at J-pop, but I hold onto moments when I can. This is one thing you will never want to forget because it will brighten up your day so much.

SS501 speaking English: THIS. Sometimes words can’t describe the level of affection one feels for something… and this is one of those cases. This clip has my soul. I have seen it so many times. I wish that everyone in the world watched it because I want to quote it all. the time. WE ARE THE STUDENT! The basic premise is that SS501 heading to the Hollywood Bowl for the annual Korean music festival that’s held there, and they get carried away with their “knowledge” of English. It is beyond precious. We are good friendship, OK?

ANOMALY! Not really, I just don’t have a fall-back video of a Chinese-speaking person speaking broken English D: Fail. So instead of a funny clip, I’ll give you a good one.

JJ Lin – Trapped (English Demo): This is a demo English version of JJ Lin’s “精灵/Elf.” I think this song sounds really cool in English. Here is the video of the official version, which is also lovely. I love JJ Lin in every language, basically. He could sing anything and I’d drool, just like Pavlov’s dogs. Cause I’m a fangirl.

There are about five hundred other videos I could and want to write about, but I need to limit myself. However, I think we all know that this post can’t be complete without some Heechul-English. “My name is Kim Heechul. English name? Joker. J-O-K-E-R.” LINK!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 30, 2009 9:47 pm

    Aiba is probably the reason I can’t watch Asian speak English. He’s such a dork xD

Leave a Reply

