Skip to content

Review: G-Dragon’s ‘Heartbreaker’

August 18, 2009

I’m sure everyone is SO tired of hearing about G-Dragon (looking back at my most recent posts, you can see that he’s the only thing I’ve talked about with very few exceptions), but his album is finally out and I am INCREDIBLY excited and happy.

I really love Big Bang moments. Right now is the time to sit and savor all of the fun that is ahead. For me, I only follow Big Bang this closely, so they are the only K-pop group that I watch and wait for with this kind of anticipation. Ah, it’s a good time.

Anyway, I’m already hearing both positive and negative opinions from people. I think you already know I’m going to be deathly optimistic about every song (as is my way, in case you have yet to notice), but I am going to be completely honest as well. Yay? Anyway, track-by-track first-impression review AHOY! Be prepared for extreme fangirling and massive essay-like (yet incoherent) opinions.

  1. 소년이여 [A Boy]: JSFksjfd. I love the beginning of this song. I still think the synth is very Coldplay-esque. I can’t wait to hear more than just the preview! OMG CHORUS? It’s weird but I think I like it? NO, THIS IS THE CHORUS AND I KNOW I LOVE IT. “Remember back in the day~” *o* lol. I guess what I was iffy on was the pre-chorus. Ohohoh I adore this song. G-Dragon, your falsetto makes my falsetto-loving heart so happy. Did I ever tell you that’s what made me like Big Bang initially? I’m a sucker for that falsetto sound and “Pabo” caught me.

    BRIIIDGE! I can’t believe I’m finally listening to G-Dragon’s solo album! YAY SO HAPPY!This is a really really good month.

  2. Heartbreaker: YESH, this is what I’ve been waiting for! I cannot WAIT for this song to prove everyone wrong. It’s not a Flo Rida copy! It’s clear right after the preview’s cut off point ^^ Oh my goodness, this song is so catchy and wonderful and WHY AM I SUCH A FANGIRL?! I’ll admit that the autotune (or what I suspect that voice distortion is) is distracting, but I’m over it already and I know this song is going to be completely abused on my iPod/computer/car lol. OH YES, I get to listen to this in the car tomorrow. YAYYYY!
  3. Breathe: New song! We never heard a preview for this song. It has a funky vibe. LMAO, I totally snorted when he said “yeaaaah!” right in the beginning haha. I’m waiting to see how this song will turn out… I can feel it’s going to change up for the chorus. This song has a Big Bang-in-Japan feel for some reason. I’m not feeling it completely at this point, but it’s not even halfway through so I should give it a better chance, eh? XD I like the relaxed feeling of this song. It’s not the kind of thing you’d fall asleep to, but maybe study to? I don’t know, I have weird taste in music for both activities, so maybe my opinion is just my opinion.
  4. Butterfly (Feat. Jin Jung): I loved the teaser for this song, so I am really looking forward to seeing how the full thing goes. I lovelovelove how light and airy it is. (At this point I’m really tired–but I’m determined to finish this album before sleep!) Oh, I really am enjoying “Butterfly.” I feel like I want to compare it to something else, but I can’t even figure out what right now. I’m anticipating the translation for this song. It will probably be lovely! The random English in this song does not kill me, which shows how much better GD is getting at the language (love is break it). La la la la~ LOVE IT. I need a new word for love.
  5. Hello (Feat. Dara of 2NE1): HAHA, I’m already smiling about this track. I can so see Dara in this song and she hasn’t even appeared yet. She just has the right vibe for it. I don’t know why, but I feel really cheerful listening to this. AND Dara does sound really good here. HELLO HELLO! All I can say so far is that this song is plain fun. Don’t you feel like go-carting or something? Ahh. It’s happy.
  6. Gossip Man (Feat. Kim Gun Mo): This is one song I’ve heard from start-to-finish already, so I can’t give you an entirely fresh perspective on it. STILL.

    At first I thought this song was cool, but not great. Now that I’ve heard it more, I can see that it’s one of those songs that you think about later and really enjoy. I can’t get enough of Kim Gunmo’s part. And having the English translation of this song is amazing as well (the lyrics are interesting). It’s a really good song, from front to back, top to bottom. It has a fresh feeling for me. I don’t know if it’s that innovative or anything, but idk. It’s like an old style perked up by GD.

  7. Korean Dream (Feat. Taeyang): YAY, GDYB. :D:D:D:D:D this songggg. Is it weird to love it already? “I’m Captain Ji Sparrow” HAHA. Oh goodness, I love Taeyang’s random contributions to this song. It already has great bones. I’m amazed by GD’s versatility. Don’t laugh at me, you non-GD people! LMAO, I really think these things. Infatuation makes you ignore all kinds of things. YOU HATE IT BUT YOU LOVE IT. DIES, SO TRUE. This track is very digital-ish but I am having a ton of fun with it.
  8. The Leaders (Feat. Teddy, CL): THIS. I have been trying not to crash YouTube from all the listens I have given to the YG Live rip. This is my favorite song on the album so far, and it’s even better in 320kbps. I love the beat and the flow and the random things like “Gee gee gee gee baby, GD GD GD baby” even though plenty of people are annoyed by it. OH, and this song is even better than the one we heard on YG LIVE! AND not only does this song have three amazing people in it, they are all worth the hype. I think so, at least. They always garner attention whether it’s positive or negative. HOW CAN YOU ARGUE WITH THAT? “Ready or not, here I come~” I like how they’re all “what’s up” and the balance of male and female. GD’s like in between the range of CL and Teddy lol, so it works well.

    COMPLETELY HAPPY WITH THE ENTIRETY OF THIS TRACK.

  9. She’s Gone (Feat. Kush): OMG, this song is really working up to be great. KUSH, ILY! The energy is really good. I’m always on the fence about this style of song, but this time I’m on the “liking it” side. The rhythm is hard to resist. It has the feeling of an EVENT; it’s not just a song. It also leaves a lot of room for some excellent rapping from my boy, Jiyong. I think that’s the best part. Kush’s raspy additions add to the feeling of it all.
  10. 1년 정거장 [Station 1 Year]: SINGING!!! And I like it! Sometimes GD’s singing can be odd lol; not gonna lie. I’m having a tough time explaining what I think about it. I thoroughly like it. It’s a great way to end the album. You aren’t ending on a slow note, but it’s not like you’re hyped at full speed either. I definitely am enjoying it.

OHHHH readers, I have revealed my deepest fangirl self with this entry. It’s no secret that I have a huge soft spot for G-Dragon, but this really proves it, doesn’t it? But to be as objective as I can, I actually think this is a solid album. I’m not immune to Big Bang’s charms, but I can see when there are weak spots (“Remember” definitely made me hugely aware of that). Taking that into consideration, there were a few points in this album I had to wait out. There wasn’t anything offensive, but tracks like “Breathe” and “She’s Gone” didn’t hit me right away. BUT… I don’t hate them by any stretch of the imagination. I know myself well enough to know that these tracks will grow on me.

Good grief, the later it gets the less I can convey my thoughts. I guess I’m trying to say that I loved the album, but I know it wasn’t perfect. Other people will point out things like “unoriginality” and “overhype” etc., but whatever. If you want Big Bang circa “Hot Issue,” go listen to that album. I love it too, but you can’t entirely fault someone who was cultivated in a mainstream for sounding like other people. What makes me like GD is how EVEN THOUGH he has the typical sound, he makes it his own. Agree or disagree, those are my 2 cents.

Also, I jumped the gun with my previous post. When you rely on translations, you OUGHT to wait for a second “opinion” to know you have the most accurate information, but sometimes it’s hard not to excited over news that looks promising.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. universe permalink
    August 20, 2009 9:09 am

    hey i chanced upon your blog while surfing the net and i got to say you are almost spot on with everything i thought about GD. from the songs right down to the fangirl bias moment haha.

    i agree with these especially, ” But to be as objective as I can, I actually think this is a solid album. I’m not immune to Big Bang’s charms, but I can see when there are weak spots. Taking that into consideration, there were a few points in this album I had to wait out. There wasn’t anything offensive, but tracks like “Breathe” and “She’s Gone” didn’t hit me right away. BUT… I don’t hate them by any stretch of the imagination. I know myself well enough to know that these tracks will grow on me.”

    haha you really put everything down perfectly. thank you, and let’s continue supporting BB and their awesomeness =)

Trackbacks

  1. G-Dragon's First Solo Album 'Heartbreaker' - Review — AA-CHAN

Leave a Reply

