Skip to content

Celebrity weight: Yoona of SNSD

August 23, 2009

snsd_indiv_yoona

Yoona of SNSD recently revealed her height and weight on KBS’s “Champagne.” She comes in at 167cm (about 5’6″) in height and is just under 50kg (about 110lb) in weight.

As someone who is also 5’6″, I know what weight is deemed medically healthy and what isn’t. Yoona’s weight-to-height ratio doesn’t bother me so much as how people are responding to it. Almost everyone is saying, “Finally, someone who is a healthy weight!” followed by, “I wish I could be her size!”

…I’m sorry, what? I could have sworn you just said that 50kg was healthy for someone 167cm tall. HAHA, wouldn’t that be funny.

For those who aren’t aware, Yoona would need to be 54kg or 118lb to just scrape above the “underweight” category for her height. Yeah, 4kg or 8lb isn’t a huge quantity of weight, but it still counts. Believe me: I lost 4kg before and I was down three pant sizes.

People, I have long since given up on celebrities having a normal weight-to-height ratio, but can’t we ourselves view the human body in a healthier way? I have struggled in the past with my weight (it’s hard to find someone who hasn’t), and only in the recently years have I finally come to realize that I’m not fat by any means. I’m not embarrassed to tell you that I weight quite a few kilograms more than Yoona and I have never been more happy with my weight.

I suppose I’m just trying to suggest to everyone that we should not envy celebrities with weight like this. Yes, Yoona has a beautiful body (and her body’s size is part of her job requirement), but I don’t think we should model ourselves after it. It’s better to be healthy. Medicalnewstoday.com says this about being underweight:

“Health problems associated with being underweight can include fighting off infection, osteoporosis, decreased muscle strength, trouble regulating body temperature and even increased risk of death.”

That being said, I guess it’s good that Yoona isn’t (or claiming to be) 45kg like many other female idols. I must note that 50kg is not the worst I’ve heard for a celebrity.

What do you think about Yoona’s weight? I don’t think you’ll find many idols who are a healthy weight, but I still find it saddening. Is Yoona’s weight better than most or should she gain weight? Is it necessary to be underweight in the entertainment industry?

Caveat: I’m not trying to say that Yoona is definitely unhealthy, but rather that we should be careful before we start using people like her as a model for perfection. There are a lot of different factors that come into play when weight is at hand, but don’t waste your life trying to be 167cm and 50kg, because it’s likely that your body wants a higher weight for you. “Normal” does not equal “fat,” and it’s taken me too long to realize that.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2009 11:00 pm

    Very good & insightful post! I always hate it when celebs “revealing” their weight in variety shows immediately become a hot issue. I remember the same thing happened to Hyori in Family Outing when she “came out” & said she was around 55-56 kg? Then everyone was like, wow, she’s so brave, sexy, etc. etc. The way people react should be more of a hot issue than anything else! I recently watched a Kara interview and more than half of it was about how they dieted to achieve their skinny figure. The host was like, “Since your comeback the hot topic is about how pretty you’ve become since you lost weight…” I’m like.. 0___0 So what happened to the single they were promoting? So that’s what they consider a “concept?” Then netizens are all against 4minute’s mini-album cover for showing skinny thighs. What gives? It’s like weight measures are more like popularity contests, it’s okay to be a certain weight as long as so-and-so is the same.

  2. Danielle permalink
    August 23, 2009 11:41 pm

    I don’t think Yoona’s weight should be looked at as a model for other people, but I don’t think it’s necessarily unhealthy either. After all, what’s deemed healthy for an European build and an Asian build could be different. I, myself, am about 5’3 in height, and about 90 pounds in weight. I’ve never dieted in my life, and as far as my doctor is concerned, with the type of build I have, 90 pounds is a normal weight for me.

  3. Danielle permalink
    August 23, 2009 11:43 pm

    Sorry, didn’t see the caveat there.

  4. August 24, 2009 3:20 pm

    You’re right but sometimes I wonder what happens if they see a normal average girl stand around them. That girl might feel uncomfortable and so do I when I see girl groups like SNSD with stick legs like theirs.

    Then what is the normal weight for a girl Yoona’s age, I wonder?

  5. Arie permalink
    August 31, 2009 1:58 pm

    actually, she said 50kg, not 60 (:

  6. September 1, 2009 7:20 am

    Arie:

    Oh dear, I got it half right and half wrong throughout the article. I knew she was 50kg but I kept slipping “60” in there somehow. I think this spouts from the fact that I’m incurably American and I cannot use the metric system for the life of me. I apologize for the mistakes!

  7. Mary permalink
    September 11, 2009 8:47 pm

    I don’t like when people says ‘she should eat more’ or ‘she’s not healthy’. One person can be really healthy and be underweight.

    I am not Asian, but I have the same height 167cm and I have 44-45kg. I am not an unhealthy people! Just because I’m underweight… I feel offend by this. I know that I am minority in this case, but still… I’m super healthy, my exams are always good. So, what I am saying is there isn’t a rule about this. So people should stop daydreaming about the others bodies. The important thing is to be healthy.

  8. Clan90n permalink
    April 2, 2010 4:48 am

    I agree with mary….some people can be underweight and healthy…..besides, asian size and caucasian size are totally different….caucasian have a bigger bone so their ideal weight is different to asian who have smaller bone…. besides…yoona is slim but at least she’s not BONES like those caucasian models!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Asian people dun look like BONES when they get slim but caucasian do!conclusion….ideal size for asians and caucasians is different!

Leave a Reply

