Skip to content

Review: G-Dragon’s ‘A Boy’ or ‘소년이여’ MV

November 9, 2009

I was all set to go to bed when I just automatically checked a Big Bang news source (out of obsessive habit) and I totally remembered that G-Dragon’s “A Boy” MV was coming out today!

All I can say at this moment is that I love this video POSSIBLY even more than “Heartbreaker,” and that is saying a ton because I’ve watched “Heartbreaker” the video more than I’ve (probably) heard the song alone (which is a ton).

First off: THE HAIR. This is like an amped up exaggerated version of one of my favorite GD cuts. Love or hate it? I love it. I kind of drooled over it in GD’s second live performance of this song, but seeing it make an immortal comeback in this video is fabulous.

I could write a master’s thesis on this boy’s hair, I swear.

As some of you already know, I make a lot of videos for songs that don’t have an official MV attached. I thought that because YG released a video for “Butterfly,” that meant that there would be no “A Boy.” I actually had the subs close to ready and a rough idea for the video footage when I found out there was going to be a real video for this. I couldn’t be happier though. This video is gorgeous and inventive and it really goes along with the lyrics (which I heavily researched in preparation for the video I’m not making!). I lovelovelove this. Love.

Oh oh oh, the more I see the more I fall in love. With it, with the song, with this guy who can dress in girl’s clothes and still make me like him. I really need a prince charming to come along soon because I like my Big Bang boys too much. I need to be brought back to reality! LOL!

Really really. GOOD video. It was extremely visually appealing (although I might say it erred on the side of being TOO dynamic? Was it distracting?), and G-Dragon’s avant-garde style fit perfectly in all of it. Everything he wore was actually believable, even though the make-up made me laugh a little.

UGH. Just when I thought I was “over” G-Dragon’s album, he brings me right back. I mean, I just listened to it yesterday, but it’s gotten to the point that I want to give it a break. I CAN’T NOW.

Remember back in the day~

If anyone wants them, I combined and basically re-grammar’ed and re-moulded three different lyric translations of “A Boy,” like I would for a video sub. It’s never means anything against the original translations; I just like doing this before a video so when you’re reading the words as they’re spoken, they flow like an English conversation would. Sharing below the cut with original credits attached!

GD
Your choice
Drop it on me

It’s deep in the night but I can’t fall asleep
I keep fighting my worsening migraine
Twisting and turning until I get lost in my thoughts
Then I grab the pen again
The lyrics I’m writing with no space in between
Are full of my philosophy
My room is filled with white smoke
It’s home sweet home and cozy

I ran here without a break at age thirteen
Not knowing my own charm was my biggest weapon
Where there’s an uphill, there must be a downhill

It’s too late to go back

I can’t let go

Remember back in the day

Your shining dream, I cannot forget that dream

Don’t forget back in the day
Boy,
take your charming voice and shout to the world
(Shine a light)

I’m G-Dragon
People say I’m small, I’m young, I’m G-Dragon
That’s what people say

They envy me because I have too much

“Celebrities all live comfortably”

You should try being in this position

You’ll realize what you see isn’t everything

As time passed, my loneliness grew

The sense of duty was the heaviest burden for me
Where there’s an uphill, there must be a downhill

It’s too late to go back

I wanna go

Remember back in the day

Your shining dream, I cannot forget that dream

Don’t forget back in the day
Boy,
take your charming voice and shout to the world
(Shine a light)

With ten years of countless questions
With all the beads of sweat I’ve dropped
All the cold tears I’ve held back
Ah, ah, now I’m attempting to start

Remember back in the day

Your shining dream, I cannot forget that dream

Don’t forget back in the day
Boy,
Take your charming voice and shout to the world
(Shine a light)

(Just once) Remember back in the day

(Go back) Your shining dream, I cannot forget (forget) that dream

Don’t forget back in the day (way back)
Boy

Take your charming voice and shout to the world

Come back to me now, come back to me now

(Even if ten years pass)

Come back to me now, come back to me now

(The times that have passed)

Remember back in the day (it’s time to shine)

I can never forget (that’s choice)

Don’t forget back in the day (brought to you by GD), boy

(Shout to the world with your wonderful voice)
(Shine a light)

Translation credits: Do not use without crediting all of these sources
beau@bbvipz
lovenostalgiaa@gracefulsub@youtube
http://bakarang3r.wordpress.com/2009/08/19/01-a-boy-gd-solo-lyrics-romanjitranslation/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

