Skip to content

Review: 2PM’s ‘Heartbeat’ (part 1)

November 11, 2009

I’ve yet to hear 2PM’s full album yet, but I just saw their recently released “Heartbeat” MV and I couldn’t help but write about it. There are a few things that really bother me about this video. It’s obvious and sad that Jay is missing, but that’s pretty much the least of my concerns right now.

Pleaaaase forgive me for being critical. Everyone should know that I adore 2PM to pieces. Although I am generally positive in reviews, the cons should be mentioned. They just need to be said.

First of all, what happened to Junsu’s beautiful face? I remember seeing an article on Seoulbeats mentioning the change, but I wanted to pretend I didn’t see it until now. Honestly, I can hardly identify him anymore. Something is CLEARLY different about him, and I think it’s the nose? Which really weirds me out because he had a fabulous nose before. I won’t fault someone for making a minor change, but when it renders the person unrecognizable it’s kind of worrisome. That being said, I will proceed to forget that he ever did such a thing and look toward the future lol.

Second of all… oh stylists. Why. Why. WHY?! You have styled 2PM has generally well in the past–even “Again and Again” can be forgiven–but why must you inflict lattice-work suits on these brilliant guys? WHY?! Furthermore, the hair. THE HAIR! THE HUMANITY! How on earth… again, WHY on earth would give men ponytails in a serious video?! I am completely stumped. Stumped beyond the stuttering of a few words. I mean, even the suits could be overlooked if the hair wasn’t so bizarre.

Finally, the song. I like the song in parts, but as of now I am not feeling the flow. I don’t get it. I want to love it to bits (and I know it will grow on me), but there is something (too dramatic?) choppy about the way the song transitions between verse to chorus etc. And maybe the music is too dominant? I love the strings, don’t get me wrong, but you definitely lose power in the vocals when all you can hear is the pounding of the music. But onto the good in the next paragraph:

I must say that hearing the song in full quality has made all the difference for my opinion about it. The MV on 2PM’s YouTube really messes with the sound. Quick rundown: I think it’s interesting how it starts off with Taec’s rapping. I like it. It’s SO surprising though when you hear Chansung come out with that… really DIFFERENT rap. I somehow like it but it’s still unexpected. And all of the rest of the verse is good… It has a heartbeat pace, almost. The chorus is different than you’d think, but I find that it works? Nickhun rapping though… ! Really, all of the song is very enjoyable and I find myself loving it.

Ah, and I know I said “finally” but I’m also on the fence about the choreography. I need to see it more to make a final call, but I can’t say I understand it all.

I suppose it’s almost natural for 2PM to garner some criticism for “Heartbeat.” Not only is it their first single/video without Jay, but it also is the first MAIN single that is not high-pace and up-beat. I’m not calling “Heartbeat” a ballad, but it has a softer quality to the song than, say, “Again and Again.” The strings evoke an almost ballet-esque mood, or something that calls for plenty of grace. It’s not that 2PM is not graceful in the song/video, but I feel like there needs to be something to smooth it all out and I’m getting a sense of “choppy” that is rather disconcerting.

I love a lot about all of it, but right now I want to voice my concerns over it more than anything else. I know I’m sounding extremely critical, but I think I needed to get that out of my system so I could start focusing on the good.

Edit: Read part 2 here! It’s more positive.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2009 2:34 pm

    Nice review. ^_^

    But I kind of wish they did an MV to 너에게 미쳤었다 or 기다리다 지친다, those songs are amazing. But I think they can win #1 with this song anyways.

  2. qoobie23 permalink
    November 11, 2009 8:53 pm

    Great review Kirsten.

    I personally loved Heartbeat. It helps having a pair of headphones / sound system which can handle the awesome bass.

    lthough it wasn’t the “totally new genre” that JYP was promising, I can’t think of any other song in KPOP that sounds quite like it.

    Before watching the MV, I really had no clue who the second rapper ! And I agree with hair… totally reminds me of Super Junior Shindong – not a good thing…

    I quite liked the choreography – I felt it complemented with the pace and lyrics of the song very well. Can’t wait to see how well they will perform it live~

  3. 999papercranes permalink
    November 12, 2009 12:25 am

    I seriously didn’t like this song at first, Jay missing being one thing, and the weird rap of Chansungs.
    But after watchin the MV (Which caused me to run to the toilet in shock and puke), i like it. TO A CERTAIN EXTEND. HEH.
    I don’t get taec’s hair, which has white white white and more white on the top of his head. And the ponies. WTF! But it started growing on me, the dance for the chorus is easy to follow, but the rest…
    It reminds me of a mixture of the rise of the undead and marionettes xD
    But im still gon support them. xD

Leave a Reply

