Skip to content

The perfect cheesy Kpop song (BODY SHAAAKE!)

November 28, 2009

Ever since Ninja Assassin has come out (and a bit before), people around me keep looking at me and saying, “You know who’s in it? Rain, the Korean pop star!” Sometimes it will even be with people I thought were unaware of my obsession. Oops. I guess the secret is out of the bag! I love me some Kpop.

Anyway, it got me thinking. Right now, I’ve just been nodding and talking about how multi-talented Rain is. I mean, he is, right? He sings, dances, acts, produces, has his own clothing line… and more, I’m sure that I can’t even think of off the top of my head. GENIUS/INSANE?/HOT (unrelated, but still true)/RAAAAIN. But what if I started showing people Rain’s most recent music endeavors? I don’t think “Rainism” was a bad album at all, but the SONG “Rainism” still makes me giggle (as catchy as it is). BODY SHAKE! I just rewatched the performance for the first time in forever and the person in me who is used to Kpop doesn’t flinch, but if I imagine Kpop noobs watching it… well, it might not be pretty. Don’t lie! You know they’d laugh and wouldn’t understand.

SO. I started thinking. What would I replace “Rainism” with? If I’m looking for a song that is on the same level (i.e. not something “deep” or even a ballad), what would I choose? I can’t decide right now. That’s why I’m posting! I thought I would ask what you thought.

Even if you love Rainism, find a match for it that is more “American” friendly. I know that I got into Kpop for the campy stuff (I’m more discerning now!), but not everyone thinks the way I do. My brain is so fried from studying (why is my school so cruel? IT’S THANKSGIVING BREAK! NOT “BREAK-THE-FANGIRL”!), so I thought it would be fun to do something silly like this.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    November 30, 2009 3:03 am

    it was hard, but i think rain’s “i’m coming” period was the most american friendly perfs and choreography… though i love me some rain (woohoo to vegas concerts on christmas can’t wait) when watching his lives without kpop goggles they can be a bit hmmmm

    with the exception of a few cringeworthy moments here’s a great rain live http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tGFEbh9VA0U&feature=related

  2. Mary permalink
    December 3, 2009 3:03 pm

    Sorry for the random comment, I know that this doesn’t help in anyway but I just thought I’d comment because reading what you said just totally helped me understand things. I couldn’t figure out a way to explain why my sister found a few of my favourite kpop mv’s uhh lets say ‘odd’ lol.

    One of the first vids I saw was balloons from dbsk & I was like oh I like the song but umm? why are they dressed like that? It was NOTHING like the music videos on tv. But I soon came to realise what the song was about & such so yeah.. Lucky I had the biggest crush on Changmin when I first saw him (still do XD) and decided to try out more of their songs ~^^

  3. December 3, 2009 8:39 pm

    Omg, “Balloons” was one of the absolute first Kpop MVs I ever saw. I had a friend who was obsessed with DBSK only (she never mentioned anything else K-entertainment related), so I was a bit perplexed. The MV was so cracked out when I first saw it, but later (like you) I realized that it wasn’t average Kpop fare and had a purpose.

  4. December 23, 2009 1:52 am

    The two songs that really got me into Rain were, How to Avoid the Sun & I Still Love You. I am a new fan myself, so I know what you mean about Rainism being the first song you’d suggest to someone who is a Rain newbie…when I first heard Rainism I was like…wth? But now it is one of my faves. Hope this helps even a little ^ ^

  5. December 25, 2009 2:15 am

    great post — very inspiring

  6. December 25, 2009 11:39 am

    hey i really like your blog i found it on Google

  7. December 25, 2009 12:51 pm

    i love 2ne1!!!

  8. January 2, 2010 7:54 pm

    I’ll say Sad Tango =)

Leave a Reply

