Skip to content

Top 20 Kpop songs of 2009, part 1

January 10, 2010

I finally got around to putting together a favorite list for 2009. I could make about ten thousand separate categories, but for now I will stick with favorite Kpop songs. Part two will come soon!

I usually stress about having more than one of the same artists on a “top _” list, but I can’t do that this time. You all know that I have favorites and I’m not going to pretend that I don’t. Some songs just won me over way more than others, so I really have to consider that, no matter who the artist was. For me, music tends to be a way to relieve stress. Yes, I love music that is compelling and intelligent, but I tend to go for songs that get me emotionally. As silly as it may sound, I tend to love songs that make me happy. If I can sing to it, dance to it, whatever… it has to be good.

Last year I had two lists. One was for “unembarrassing” favorites while the other was for trendy loves. This time I originally started with this same favorite and then rearranged according to what I really liked the best. I’ll do half now and half in another post, but all-in-all these are arranged according to how I actually liked them (although it’s hard to do this at all, because my favorites tend to fluctuate).

  1. Taeyang – Wedding Dress: Last year Taeyang made it to the top of my favorite-favorite list and he’s done it again this year! I tend to think that I won’t like Taeyang as much as I do. I don’t know why.

    As I write this, the last time I listened to this song was the last day of the year (so play counts still… count!). In just 48 days this was almost my most listened-to song of 2009, falling just two plays under another song on this list. There is hugely good reason for this! I love everything about this track. It’s heartfelt and gorgeous and I love the video and the dancing and I ADORE TAEYANG. Do you need any more reason? SO many people have said this song wasn’t as good as “Where U At,” but I beg to differ. “Wedding Dress” reminds me of “Look Only At Me” in the sense that it gains more power every time you play it. For me, when I hear this song I love it more than ever before. This is why it’s my number one song of 2009. (As a side note, I love belting this out in my car!)

  2. 2NE1 – I Don’t Care: I am actually not entirely sure why I placed this song so high, except for maybe that it symbolizes my love for the group? I’ve listened to “I Don’t Care” more times than I’d like to admit. When I first heard it, I simply thought it was okay. Somehow I’ve grown very attached to it as time has passed. I love the different parts of the song (the flow from verse to chorus to bridge etc.), andddd it has just found its way into my heart. It’s weird that I can like a song so much and not understand how to describe why.
  3. TOP & Taeyang (Big Bang) – 친구/Friend: I. Love. THISSONG. This is the track that beat out “Wedding Dress” by two plays as my most listened-to song of 2009. Everything about this song is incredible. At first I thought it would be rather average because it’s only two members of Big Bang, but then I was like… UH, yeah, but look at what members! Taeyang and TOP are power-house people in their own rights. Taeyang has that melty RnB voice that is weirdly complimented by TOP’s deep rapping. I think my favorite thing about this song is that it’s so emotional. You don’t think about the music or the vocals as much as you think about the entire feeling of the song… which is hugely weighty and amazing. I don’t care if this song was made for a soundtrack! Sometimes those are the best songs.
  4. So Nyeo Shi Dae – 소원을 말해봐/Tell Me Your Wish (Genie): I have no shame, as you can probably tell by the ranking of this song. Yes, I freely admit that I love this song. I do not think it was a more trendy song than “Gee” and I happen to hate how degrading to women this song is, but there is something inside me that loves “Genie.” Many people say the dance sucks, but it’s hilarious and I love watching performances of this song. I think I must love this song because you can’t take it entirely seriously.
  5. Big Bang – 声をきかせて/Let Me Hear Your Voice: I KNOW THIS SONG ISN’T IN KOREAN! But since it’s Big Bang, I count it. I couldn’t not count a song I loved so much. This song was so amazing to me that I even starting the drama that it was played on (which wasn’t a mistake because it’s amazing), Ohitorisama. I love how beautiful and encouraging this song is. The video is INCREDIBLY gorgeous and… I don’t know. I could just listen to this song forever and ever and never get tired of it.
  6. Taeyang – Where U At: This top 10 is pretty exclusive, eh? I just have my favorites! You can’t take that away from me! Anyway, I lovelovelovelovelove lovvvvvvvvvvvve this song. I find the lyrics to be absolutely fabulous. Yes, I’m one of those people who believes in ~soulmates~, so this song melts me to death. Aside from the dreamy lyrics, this song is addicting as heck. I love Taeyang’s singing in it and Teddy’s feature and sdfjsld the muuuusic. I have yet to tire of this song.
  7. 2PM – Again & Again: For a while I almost forgot this song came out in 2009. It became an instant classic in my book for some reason. It’s not that it’s a bad song, but more that I don’t know why it’s so awesome. Well, if you think about it… I love the music, the dancing, the video… The singing is pretty decent as well. It may be because I have a huge attachment to 2PM. They aren’t a group that I follow obsessively, but I love them almost as much as if I do. This song kind of embodies those feelings for me and asdfjsdl I just love it.
  8. G-Dragon – The Leaders: This sonnnnng. I liked it before it was even released! I never put YouTube videos on repeat, but when this was previewed on YG Live I replayed that video to the point of excess. Everything about this song rules me. I love the droning beat mixed with these ace people. I basically know GD’s hand movements to this song by heart, and I will randomly break out with a “텔레비전에 내가 나오면~” lol. Oh yeah~ I’m that cool (and nonsensical; darn that boy for breaking up sentences). Anyway, ugh ugh ugh, I couldn’t love this song more.
  9. Epik High – Map the Soul: I didn’t know where to place this song, but I felt it deserved to get a good spot. I love the heart of this song. The music is really beautiful, but it takes a backseat to the vocals. I adore the rhythm of the raps and asldfsdjl. I like the “worldwide” version, but the Korean version is jjang. L-O-V-E you, I was made to be with this songgg. Epik High is my favorite (or one of many, but stiiiill).
  10. K.Will – 눈물이 뚝뚝/Tears are Dropping: THIS SONG! I adore it. It’s so passionate and beautiful and you almost want to go find something to be emotional about when you hear it. I love K.Will’s voice so much. There really isn’t much to say for it except that it’s amazing and you should go listen to it if you haven’t already.

That’s it for now. I’ll post the other 10 before Wednesday! (Part 2)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2010 9:37 pm

    I agree with quite a few of these 🙂 Looking forward to the next part~

  2. January 11, 2010 12:01 am

    I love your list! I’m so happy you put Friend up there. ;]

  3. January 11, 2010 9:25 am

    Your list is great. I love reading lists like yours since I’m a 7 month noob to kPOP. I had to chase down Friend since I wasn’t aware of it and I have to say, it’s an awesome song. I’m a little YG biased so I had a few other songs on my list, but for the most part I think your choices matched what I had as well. Thanks!

  4. January 17, 2010 9:20 am

    2PM at no.7 for some reason, I just don’t like it. Bit surprised Wedding Dress reached #1 for you though I haven’t seen it won not once. I was a bit disappointed that it didn’t actually.

    http://nynyonline.wordpress.com/2010/01/17/express-my-views-2-fans/#more-1394
    Hope you comment on my new entry!

  5. cassie permalink
    January 22, 2010 11:51 pm

    I LOVE YOUR K-POP TASTE!!

  6. ANGEL JURADO permalink
    April 7, 2010 1:05 am

    2ne1 is the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

  7. April 29, 2010 10:24 am

    pls add in the list my favorite song bingeul bingeul by u-kiss

    • April 29, 2010 1:17 pm

      There are two reasons I can’t do that: 1) This is my PERSONAL list of favorites; 2) This list contains songs from only 2009, and “Bingeul Bingeul” was released in February 2010 (after I even wrote this post).

Leave a Reply

