Skip to content

Movie reviews: ‘My Boyfriend is Type B,’ ‘I’m a Cyborg, But That’s OK’ & ‘My Mighty Princess’

January 25, 2010

Back in October I watched nine Korean movies in a short span and I posted about six of them. I already had the reviews written for the other three but I never posted them! I’m swamped with school so it actually works out that I never put them on the blog. I feel bad whenever it’s been a week and there’s nothing new… such neglect!

Keep in mind that it’s been a few months since I’ve seen these!

My Boyfriend is Type B, I’m a Cyborg, But That’s OK, My Mighty Princess

  • My Boyfriend is Type B: Starring: Lee Dong-gun, Han Ji-hye
    This is another movie that definitely-definitely-definitely showcases a toxic relationship. Things become resolved by the end, but it’s almost painful to watch the unbalanced giving-and-taking that goes on among the main characters. It’s all on the basis that the boyfriend is “type B” (although he’s cheerful and carefree, he’s also selfish and arrogant) and the girlfriend is “type A” (she’s typically earnest and compassionate). The boyfriend is AMAZING one second (there is one scene in which he avenges his girlfriend at school and I absolutely laughed my head off–Lee Dong Gun is a good actor), and then he turns around and unforgivingly makes his girlfriend suffer. All of his inconsiderateness is balanced by an almost split-personality considerateness in the next moment. It’s very hard to watch, since you know this really happens in relationships sometimes. When the movie finished, I was feeling better about the movie, but I still felt put-off by the cruelty the boyfriend showed (whatever his reasons!) so often. It was an entertaining watch, however. Just make sure you turn off your brain before tuning in.

  • I’m a Cyborg But That’s OK: Starring: Shin Min-a, Rain/Jung Ji-hoon
    After watching this movie, I discovered that it was directed by the same person (Park Chan-wook) who did the “vengeance trilogy” (Sympathy for Mr. Vengeance, Oldboy, and Sympathy for Lady Vengeance). I can say that it wasn’t that surprising to find that out. I haven’t seen the whole trilogy yet, but from what I HAVE seen, the general essence of Cyborg was similar. There was a certain macabre, ironic humor to it that was unmistakably the same. That being said, it was definitely of a lighter nature than the trilogy. Mental illness is rather caricatured, making serious maladies like schizophrenia seem almost child-like and amusing. However, it was all done in way that rather played on most people’s misconceptions of such things.

    An interesting thing about this movie was how absolutely blurred reality and imagination were. I didn’t quite get this concept straight away, but something I read after made me go, “OH! So that’s what that was!” Sometimes it was clear that a scene was construed by a character, but in the next moment you’d be wondering how a bunch of sick patients got to be so alone (the answer is that this is very unlikely). Anyhow, I’m not going to give away the whole movie, but it was really interesting and well done.

    I have to say Rain did excellently, and I’m surprised that he hasn’t done more roles like this. I do have to say that his kissing is basically the same in his acting experiences, though, so don’t expect this to be an exception (LOL if you get what I’m saying).

  • My Mighty Princess: Starring: Shin Min-a, Oh Joo-wan
    I loved this movie through-and-through. My only complaint was that it had some transitional issues (it went from happy and lighthearted to serious and dramatic in zero to none), but everything else made up for it. I hesitated to watch this because it seemed a bit dry from the synopsis, but my new found love for Shin Mina had me pressing on. HOMG. I love watching things in which you can’t realize what relationship you really want to happen, and you can’t even figure out which one WILL happen. Plus, the characters were all so interesting and fun. The direction of the movie was a huge twist for me (I didn’t see it coming; it seemed like a simple rom-com forever), but I enjoyed it sososo much. CUTE ENDING! This has to be my favorite movie I’ve seen in a long time.

If you want to see the other reviews from October, I’ll give you the links below:
100 Days With Mr. Arrogant, The Beast and the Beauty, My Little Bride
My Tutor Friend, He Was Cool, 200 Pound Beauty

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 2:41 pm

    I loved “I’m a Cyborg”, what a strange yet great film that was! 🙂

  2. qoobie23 permalink
    January 27, 2010 3:22 am

    I totally agree with your complaint about the transitional issues in “My Mighty Princess.” I had to double check that I had the right disk (I bought a VCD version… very Asian of me XD )

    I enjoyed “My Boyfriend is Type B” more. It actually introduced me to the importance which many Asians put on blood types. Pretty formulaic in terms of K-romcoms, but enjoyable.

    I haven’t watched “I’m a Cyborg” as the trailers/posters made it seem just incredibly slow. I’ve watched the whole Vengeance trilogy – loved them! even though they were deeply disturbing.. Have you seen the newest Park Chan-wook film – “Thirst”? Now that is one effed up movie.

  3. February 13, 2010 10:19 am

    Hi,

    We’ve browsed through your reviews and thought that they are really original and interesting! We would like to invite you to publish your reviews on 7tavern.com, which provides an alternative platform for promising movie reviewers to showcase their talents. In addition, you’ll find a growing community of bloggers who share the same passion for excellent movies! Based on the merit of your reviews, we believe that you would be an exceptional addition to our community.

    Please feel free to contact us to discuss how you could become a 7tavern reviewer. =)

    Cheers,
    7tavern Team
    admin@7tavern.com

Leave a Reply

