Skip to content

2NE1 releases ‘Follow Me’ (review)

February 8, 2010

2NE1 has a new song out! It’s called “날 따라 해봐요/Follow Me” (also translated “Try To Be Like Me”) and it was produced by Teddy. It samples a song called “나처럼 해봐요/Do It Like Me.” I think it’s so funny how I have no clue when stuff is coming out. Did anyone hear about this before today? Oh well! I love having new music no matter what.

This song is fun! I love the beat. Yeah, there is some digitalizing of vocals going on, but whatever. It sounds good. There isn’t a lot of singing; it’s mostly rapping (I don’t hear any Bom and very little Dara). Still, it’s still a pretty solid track. I wouldn’t say it blows everything else they’ve done out of the water, but it’s a song I can imagine myself listening to a lot. I’ve been in an R&B mood so this doesn’t automatically get me dancing, but I feel like it has a good vibe that I’ll be more into a different day.

What do you think? Is this is a good song for 2NE1 or does it sound like a rush job to get their name out this year? I have to admit that I am a bit disappointed that they released a song with little fanfare, and more than that it’s not mind blowing (is that why they didn’t announce it ahead of time?). That doesn’t take away from the fact that I love this group and I always enjoy the music they put out, but it reminds me a lot of “Please Don’t Go” in the sense that it only reaches halfway. It’s not powerful/addictive in the sense that “Fire” and “I Don’t Care” are (even others songs on their mini-album, like “Pretty Boy,” have more appeal to me).

Also, does anyone know anything else about this song? Was it created for a CF? All my info is from K Bites. It’s not that unusual for YG (among other groups) to suddenly put out a song, but more often than not there is a reason for it. Maybe YG just wants us to remember 2NE1.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. alee permalink
    February 8, 2010 11:12 pm

    I’ve heard from A LOT of people that it’s just for their Samsung CF. it makes sense since they’re holding phones, and I dont think YG would ever use this track for a comeback. Personally I think the song is a very good song for a CF. most CF songs are ehhh…umm ‘cheap’ i guess? but I find this very high-class like maybe something that’d be included in a mini album. There is a lot of autotune but again I’m fine with it if its for a cf ^^

    and the title is ‘Try To BE Like Me’ not “Try To Me Like Me”, keke little typo. xD

  2. February 8, 2010 11:46 pm

    Okay, that makes sense. I agree that it’s a good song for a CF. I feel like it’s completely different if this is something they’re going to have on a mini-album, but if it’s just for a commercial it’s more than decent.

    Thanks! I fixed it.

  3. kaka permalink
    February 9, 2010 3:46 am

    hehe, its funny how everyone lowers their standards for CF songs. but i admit, that if this were the title song of their album– i’d be somewhat disappointed. for a title song its not good enough — but for a CF song its great. its catchy and the repetitiveness will just stick to me like subliminal messages ^^.

    and no i didn’t hear anything about this release either, though a few days ago people started to suspect that 2NE1 were going to release something because of the mysterious appearance of something relating to 2NE1 on a k-music site (but it was taken down not too long after).

  4. Ale permalink
    February 9, 2010 5:21 pm

    It sounds different which I totally appreciate and it’s grown on me since when I first heard it (my reaction that time was like ‘WTF? 2NE1 why?’).

    It’s a good CF song but I have to admit I still prefer the songs on their mini-album to this song. But it does seem to lack that repetitive/addicting nature that gets me hooked on their songs.

Leave a Reply

