Skip to content

Review: Kara’s ‘Lupin’ mini-album

February 17, 2010

Time for a review of Kara’s newest mini-album, “Lupin”!

I’m loving how Kara is progressing. When it comes to the “new” generation of Kara (after the shift of members), it’s crazy to think of them going from something like “Rock U” to “Lupin” in a relatively short period of time. Even though “Rock U” is guilty pleasure (I can thank Epik High for that!), I would never say it’s an amazing song. However, by the time Kara released their album “Revolution,” (featuring “Wanna” and “Mister”) everyone knew that Kara had truly entered the ranks of K-pop groups–including me.

  1. Tasty Love: This song starts out really strong. I think it’s one of the better songs on the mini-album, actually. It has a slightly retro feeling and it showcases the girls’ voices. It’s a fun song that’s worth listening to.
  2. Lupin: I love “Lupin”! At first I felt like it was a bit mundane, but as soon as the chorus hit I knew I was sold. I really enjoy it when a song has unexpected twists and turns. Even though the style is a bit fiercer than anything Kara’s done before, the music is completely true to the group. The melody is unmistakably Kara.
  3. Umbrella: This song is really fun. I wasn’t expecting anything special from the non-“Lupin” tracks on this album, but I’ve been pleasantly surprised by tracks like “Umbrella.” It starts of sounding like it’s going to be a very silly song, but it’s pretty catchy and enjoyable. I think the English lyrics are super funny; for some reason I almost always think they’re going to say, “Wanna be naked.” I couldn’t tell you why! It just seems like they’re going to say something strange like that. Although, “Wanna be making love,” isn’t much different/better…
  4. Rollin’: This song is addicting! My only complaint is that their voices go to some bizarre place when it comes to pitch. It’s a nice track to hang out to, but if you want to relax I don’t think you’ll look to “Rollin’.” In fact, you might want to try…
  5. Lonely: “Lonely” is a nice ballad. It’s slow and chill, and I can imagine it being on a drama. I’m not super into songs like this, but when it comes on I like it.

The only thing I have left to say about this album is that you have to be aware that the girls in Kara have some really high voices. They are a typical female idol group in that they can be over-sweet at times, and I know some people hate that. If you love cute songs, you’ll probably really enjoy this album. I personally can go either way, so I’m good. That being said, if I’ve had an irritating day, I don’t think I’ll be putting these songs on! LOL!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2010 7:41 pm

    cool review. i looooove KARA!

  2. Ale permalink
    February 17, 2010 8:17 pm

    I really like Lupin and Rollin’ had potential to totally hook me but cute songs just aren’t my thing although I do enjoy the occasional songs from them a la Mister, but I’m glad you pointed that out, because when I listened to them I was like ‘It’s not bad, it’s just too cute for me.’ You were right on the dot!

  3. February 18, 2010 1:19 am

    I thought Lonely came straight out of a drama OST. Along with Tasty Love, I enjoyed those two the most.

    This mini album totally was a surprise from Kara. It’s a good thing they’re progressing.

  4. September 11, 2010 11:26 am

    Nice.,
    i agree ’cause kara is my one and only kpop group that i love except 2ne1..,
    of course i heard a lot of songs by kara but lupin is very incredible bec. Of their outfit and the concepts,the props and also their voice it seems like they were so matured,right?
    And by the way kara wish u all the best..,go go go!

Leave a Reply

