Skip to content

Review: Big Bang’s ‘Lollipop 2’

February 19, 2010

I can’t believe Big Bang has two songs about lollipops out now. I know it’s for the phone, but it’s kind of hilarious if you think about it. “Lollipop” the first was addicting and fun, so I’m hoping for that with this one. I don’t have my hopes set TOO high, however, since it is (after all) a song for a product.

Initial thoughts:

GD followed by Taeyang = ksfjldsf. I like the song so far. It's a lot different from the original "Lollipop," which makes me happy. I didn't want a rehashed song. Hmm, chorus. It's not WoWwWwWw but it's satisfactory. Namja T.O.P~ I honestly don't feel that into it, but I feel like it will grow on me. I like the beginning the most. It's essentially just a fun song and I can never refuse new Big Bang, but it doesn't transcend the CF feel for me. I have to congratulate them on making yet another decent song on the same subject, however.

Before I say anything else, I want to emphasis that I realize this song is for a CF and therefore does not have to be awesome. Still…

I don’t think YG has been amazing lately. While I think this song is better than some things we’ve seen lately (Daesung’s song, 2NE1’s “Follow Me,” etc.), it’s not anything special. Although I think G-Dragon’s solo album, Big Bang’s “Hallelujah,” Taeyang’s two digital releases, and Park Bom’s “You and I” were all really good, everything else has been so blasé. I can admit to listening to Sandara and CL and Minji’s songs quite a bit, but I’m not going to pretend that they were truly up to par with what the company COULD be putting out. I usually can justify any chart topping for both Big Bang and 2NE1, but it really perplexed me when 2NE1’s latest song was getting so much attention. Perhaps I’m in the minority, but I felt it was a really dull song. The more I listen to it the less I want to listen to it.

I used to be the kind of person who believed that any new material was good, but I’m not so sure anymore. I definitely love having as much as I can because I’m a fan, but I feel that for non-fans these songs may be things against the company. It just seems like they don’t care anymore about what’s truly good quality, because no matter what they’ll do well with whatever they release.

What do you think? Is it better to have more music available even if it’s not that great? Is it okay since they’re only digital releases?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 1:02 pm

    HMMM well, new music is always good but it doesn’t guarantee that’ll it be awesome. But on the other hand, if they’re doing more work there’s more of a chance to get some awesome tunes in the future.

    As for 2NE1’s new song it was only okay for me too. Daesung’s song was kinda cute just he totally went into another direction I didn’t even think he would’ve went. But as for L2, I miss having the girls in it.

Leave a Reply

