Skip to content

SNSD are femme fatales for ‘Run Devil Run’

March 20, 2010

A few days ago So Nyuh Shi Dae/Girls Generation released their song “Run Devil Run” that goes with their so-called “Black Soshi” concept. “Run Devil Run” is a pretty good song. However, what I’m really into is the video! Is that surprising? It’s taken me long enough to get used to SNSD’s style. Even back when they released “Genie” I was still full of words about how anti-feminism the whole style was. I don’t know if I’ve changed or if a video like this is better?

I honest think it’s more fierce than anything else. It’s not, “Hey oppa, check me out!” but more like, “I’m hot and you you can’t touch this,” LOL.

I love how the video is focused around the dance. The girls get a lot of face time but they also transition nicely into the choreography, which is worth watching. Sure, videos like “Oh” are fun enough, but I like this. Speaking of “Oh,” isn’t it nice to seem the girls get a “serious” video? I mean, they’re not making eyes at the camera the whole time. Or rather, they’re not gushing with unbearable cuteness. I like that the concept is seductive, but it’s mostly that way because of their “I could take you or leave you” air.

This video truly is for the unni set haha. I’m older than these girls by at least a year and I definitely love it. At the same time, I know oppas and dongsengs are drooling worldwide, cause this is one hot MV. Even though the lyrics are pushing playboys and cheaters away, they are surely pulling in everyone of the male species in more than ever.

I read a rough translation and this lyric cracked me up with it’s bluntness (which is probably due to the quality of the translation):

You better run, run, run, run, run
I won’t give in, I’ll just kick you

Over all, I think this is quite a good song for SNSD. There might be some that argue that it’s too “this” or “that,” but I like it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. dbldown permalink
    March 20, 2010 6:38 pm

    agree… although 2NE1 is at the top of my list, I’m not a 1 group guy.. I like and listen to them all… BEG, Hyori, BB, 4Minute, but SNSD, not so much at first… I man I couldn’t really appreciate the value of a 9 member group… I’d hate to split my paycheck nine ways, even if it were 100,000,000 won but then again I started to think… maybe that wouldn’t be so bad if all my paychecks were 100,000,000 won because I put out such awesome #$#@# every time…. GEE eventually made it onto my playlist then GENIE… then I thought, OH! snap! Oh!’s not a bad song… a bit more of the same cuteness, but production value is high and I started to appreciate each girl a little more for their individual contributions? I still couldn’t chant their names if I wanted to… except for maybe Sunny, and Yuri.. or also Sooyoung…

    But this song is good.. and the video is really great to watch… being a guy, little shorts and thigh-high boots get some automatic video watching… but RDR isn’t so much sexy as it is seductive….no v-sign poses, no puffy-cheek-poses… fun to watch.

  2. March 23, 2010 3:43 pm

    I like it a lot and after a year, I can say I can start to like them more.

    Can you vote on this for me too?
    http://nynyonline.wordpress.com/2010/03/23/new-blog-name-vote/

  3. April 5, 2010 7:08 pm

    un blog intéressant

Leave a Reply

