Skip to content

Review: Lee Hyori’s ‘Swing’ MV

April 1, 2010

I’m in the middle of so much even at this second, but I can certainly take a two minute break to talk about Lee Hyori’s new MV, “Swing”!

OHHHH goodness. I have been so so excited about Hyori’s comeback so watching this made me very happy. But after actually seeing it, it was more of a “THIS IS SO EXCITING!” happy rather than “THIS VIDEO MAKES ME HAPPY!”

The video was quite sad and depressing. I’m really surprised. I have a feeling Hyori’s next single will be more upbeat, but I kind of like this. It’s slow and melancholy, but you can’t say it’s a ballad either. It’s something new from Hyori, and I like it. It shows her range in that she can be cute/sexy but she can also be this as well.

OH, and I know; there is an elephant in the room: the CLOWN! Do. not. want. I get that it’s symbolic and it’s not supposed to be funny, but dang clowns freak me out. Don’t they scare everyone a bit? How did anyone ever think they were great? I think it was intentionally eerie, though. It worked well. I was especially spooked when he/she hit the mirror. D:

I was super into Hyori’s styling. OMG. Lovelovelove. I didn’t like the wig, but everything else was ah-maaazing.

My two minutes are up, but I want to know what you think. Do you feel this is a bad direction for Hyori? Or is it nice to have something different?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 8:23 pm

    I really love it. The way she sang the song so … soulful and lovely. And the clown freaks me out too!

  2. April 4, 2010 11:32 pm

    i think you summed it up right – great sound, clown not necessary >.<

Leave a Reply

