Skip to content

‘Nobuta wo Produce’ helped me study

April 2, 2010

Don’t you love it when fandom helps you study?

Let’s talk about Friedrich Nietzsche. Well, not really; that would make me unhappy. But let’s talk about how a drama helped me out for a quiz that needed the answer “Friedrich Nietzsche.”

I’ve known about Nietzsche and his primary philosophical ideas for years now. However, he briefly came up in a current class and it never hurts to get reinforcement for information…

The other day, while rewatching Nobuta wo Produce, I noticed the first Shuji/Akira scene mentions Nietzsche. One of Nietzsche’s big claims was “God is dead.” Akira pesters Shuji with this information, saying, “Ne, I heard that kamisama died!” The scene is pretty classic and it came to mind when I was studying for a quiz last night.

Guess who came up on the quiz? Nietzsche. And guess who definitely got the answer right? Me. It’s not that it was so important or that I would have needed the help otherwise (because I just had to know that Nietzsche promoted skepticism in the age of Modernity), but it really brightened the day to have Yamapi’s Akira face pop in my head.

I know this has happened more than once. I love it when it happens! Ironically, I got into dramas because of school. I won’t go into the details because it’s super boring, but the end result was me watching a K-drama to get more interested in Korean culture. Uh, I’d say it worked. Maybe too well?

Have school and fandom ever collided for you? Do share!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rei permalink
    April 3, 2010 12:36 am

    I love it when that happens!!! That happened to me one time when we were in class talking about Marie Antoinette… My friend and I watched the most recent episode of You’re Beautiful where Tae Kyung told He Yi how Antoinette died… and it just earned me a recitation in class! 😀

    Not to mention, when Japanese and Korean culture is talked about in class~ 😀 Love it when it happens! XD

  2. nene permalink
    April 19, 2010 9:07 pm

    Lol! I forgot to finished seeing the last two episodes of it but now can’t seem to find it. But yea same thing has happened to me especially with a lot jdramas since they were the first ones I started watching. I’m liking your blog seems like a lot of stuff I have in mind but too lazy to make a blog about it.

Leave a Reply

