Skip to content

Super Junior’s ‘Bonamana/Beauty’ is recycled?

May 11, 2010

I’m preparing a discussion post right now (hopefully it will be worth reading!), but for now I’m going to give my thoughts on Super Junior’s latest song, “Bonamana/Beauty.”

I first saw the video. I loved the preview SO MUCH… but the MV is a rehashing of “Sorry Sorry” and Super Junior-M’s “Super Girl.” Don’t you think? The scene cutting is slightly different from what we saw in “Sorry Sorry,” but not enough to make it feel new. I know Super Junior is a big group, but considering they are down three members for this, you’d think they’d quit using vast dance spaces that look like all they’ve used in the past. I don’t MIND the video, but I definitely feel like it could have been more creative.

The song also disappoints me. It doesn’t have any part that particularly stands out to me. I like it, of course, but there is nothing about it that makes me gush with excitement (like f(x)’s “NU ABO” and SNSD’s “Run Devil Run,” for instance). It’s a good dance track though; I’ll give them that. It’s classic SuJu, and fans should be satisfied. I guess, as with the video, I felt there was a lot of potential for greatness and I don’t feel like my expectations were met in that sense. Super Junior surprised me all last year, so I guess that had to wear off at some point.

What are your thoughts? I’m especially curious what hardcore SJ fans are thinking. I know when Big Bang released songs that most people put down, I would rave (and still kind of do; they can do no wrong in my eyes it seems) over them anyhow. Do you think this song is boring or perfect? What about the video? Are their pretty faces enough to distract from the unexciting setup of things? Perhaps you don’t even think that it’s as bland as I do! Basically, I’m just curious what others are thinking about this. Super Junior is a popular group for a reason!

One last question: Does Shindong have a MULLET now? Please tell me no. Pleasepleaseplease.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2010 11:24 pm

    Hey! I’d love to give a few thoughts on this track since I plan to be doing something with it soon. The track is quite catchy, something reaffirmed by my brother who doesn’t even listen to K-Pop music but offered his comments saying “That’s a pretty catchy track!” haha. The striking resemblances between “Bonamana” and “Sorry Sorry” are primarily due to the vocals in my opinion – the highly accented and short use of syllables are a definite crossover.

    That being said, I think the track HAD enough differences to make it unique. The chorus is something that REALLY stood out for me; I’m a big fan of harmonized vocals with rhythmic elements (i.e. SNSD – Genie) I say “had” because when the MV came out, the visual techniques and angles used were very verrry reminiscent of the MV for “Sorry Sorry”. I feel as if they could have avoided exacerbating the issues with recycling old material had the MV been a little different in production.

    The dance – I give my thumbs up. It seems like it’s complex enough to retain people’s interest, but simple enough for people to copy and get it stuck in their heads.

    Those are my two cents 🙂

    • May 16, 2010 10:20 pm

      I’ve actually decided I like the song more when I detach it from the video. It’s not particularly surprising or fresh, but it’s hella catchy and I agree that the harmonized vocals are great (I typically like songs that have them).

      I think I got thrown off by the dance by the beginning of the video (they are out of sync which really STILL annoys me). I still say the DANCING is a bit sloppy and rushed feeling, but the choreography is nice. I guess for the entire video/song experience… I just felt it could have been more polished. If any other group came out with it I’d venture to say I’d be less critical LOL. I guess I’ve come to expect SJ to really knock it out of the park in every way. Still, they did a good job and I applaud them for that.

      (P.S. Looking forward to hearing what you come up with for it! I’m coincidentally listening to your remix of “Genie” right now. Love it so much.)

  2. Leah permalink
    May 11, 2010 11:24 pm

    I stan Super Junior like there’s no tomorrow.

    That said, I really don’t like this song, or this MV. Yes, everyone looks gorgeous, and I’m pleased that Heechul gets lines and there’s hip thrusting. But the song is just so mediocre. There’s so much autotune that I confused Yesung’s voice for Eunhyuk until I saw the MV. Anyone could sing this. There’s no high notes, the melody is practically monotone, and the only redeeming point to this song is the chorus and the beat. And the distribution of lines and screen time was just pretty skewed this time around. Sungmin, for instance, would be an example of this.

    I love these boys to pieces, I really do. But this song? Not feeling it. I’ll support them nonetheless, but I wish they had come back with something a little stronger.

    • May 16, 2010 10:23 pm

      I really expected something MORE from the song. I know I said it in the post, but the teaser had me so pumped up. It’s so freaking gorgeous and it has a NEW feeling to it. The video doesn’t though 😦 The song has grown on me, however. I still feel it falls below what I’ve come to look for from SJ, but it’s fun to listen to and has a good catchiness to it.

      I definitely agree that it could have been stronger.

  3. kibakun permalink
    May 12, 2010 1:28 am

    Yup, with the kind of beat the song had, I was expecting tighter choreography – too much arm flailing about and it looked messy in some parts.

    There were also re-hash of moves & poses from their older stuff (esp from “U”). A bit disappointed with the lack of originality 😦

    Still, they looked good (can they not? is it even possible?? 😀 ) and it’s a very catchy song. Looking forward to the whole album, I wouldn’t pre-judge it from this first single.

    • May 16, 2010 10:25 pm

      I agree. But yes, they looked very good! They always do. They could just stand there the entire time looking pretty like they did in the teaser and I’d probably still love them haha.

  4. May 13, 2010 4:27 am

    It seems a lot of people find this like Sorry Sorry Part. 2

    • May 16, 2010 10:24 pm

      If they did this style a few years from now, I think people would be feeling nostalgic and sentimental about it, but because “Sorry Sorry” came out just last year… it’s too soon to repeat styles so closely.

  5. May 15, 2010 12:37 am

    I think SM mentioned beforehand that this track would be an SJ funky sound, just like Sorry Sorry and Super Girl, hence the similarities. And that this would be the last SJ funky song. Still I’m already addicted to the song. =)

    • May 16, 2010 10:26 pm

      That explains things a little. It’s good to know SM wasn’t trying to pretend/pass off this song as something new. In the light that it is supposed to be similar to previous songs, I’d say they were fairly successful 😉

  6. Sophie permalink
    May 16, 2010 9:20 pm

    I like this one a lot. A lot of people say they’re trying not to compare it to Sorry, Sorry. But they are still comparing in the end.

    (Yes it’s hard because Sorry Sorry pretty much hit the books of “a dummy’s guide to k-pop” as a pretty much legendary song that upped Super Junior’s status even more as one of Korea’s representative idols << you don't see that often, bands getting to tour all over Asia and also topping international charts in many different countries.)

    You just need to throw that thought out of your mind. It's 2010, a new album and a new concept. Just take the album for itself and don't compare it to past achievements. People wanted a mature image to stay for Super Junior and they definitely got it again. There's not much leeway in one category.

    Truthfully… it had to grow on me for a while, the song was too auto-tuned for me because they're vocals are perfectly fine without auto-tuning. I think the album songs were better than Bonamana, they sang spectacular in that, no auto-tuning (even with My Only Girl, Boom Boom, and Shake It Up!). The ballads were beautiful.

    We just need to stop comparing and a get over the "it is in the same genre" complaints.
    So what? You fans wanted the mature image.

    • May 16, 2010 10:30 pm

      You could say that you shouldn’t compare, but it’s honestly hard not to. No matter WHO releases an album, I’m the type to always look at the past to see how the present looks. I’d do it for even my most fangirled groups.

      I like this song. I guess I kind of wrote this review like I didn’t; I was simply disappointed that it wasn’t anything I knew SJ had the potential to accomplish. I love “Sorry Sorry” etc., so I would be wishing for them to try something new and go into new music territory. However, “Bonamana” on its own is a good track that’s fun to listen to. Few people would argue with that (if they’re truthful). I agree that they could have done without the auto-tuning (basically every decent artist could ;__;).

      While I haven’t heard the entire album yet, I’ve heard stuff like “Boom Boom” and I was pretty impressed. I think if they have an album that’s strong on a whole, rather than just a few “good” tracks… that’s really fantastic. It’s hard to do, and it’s great they could do that.

  7. chom chom permalink
    May 18, 2010 8:16 am

    I cannot bring myself to finish the whole MV or performance.

  8. wanxin permalink
    May 31, 2010 10:50 am

    i’m a big fan of suju because of sorry sorry. so i was actually expecting something more from this album.(especially with 3 missing members)

    firstly the song, i dont find the song very sincere as in i can still see resemblance between this song and sorry sorry. i was hoping that they will surprise me with something special. even though i would have to agree that the chorus is really addictive.

    secondly the mv. the opening is ok but when they showed that same-old-black-and-white background i was put off by a bit. are they trying to sustain their “coolness” or “popularity” with similarities from sorry sorry because they are afraid that too much of a difference might result in failure or maybe sm is on a tight budget? i dont know. but the dance for this mv is better in the sense that all members get to dance the chorus in the front line.

    lastly, i dont know whether this is a good thing or bad but THEY ARE SHOWING OFF TOO MUCH FLESH! of course as a fangirl i’m happy with that BUT they are not selling flesh for goodness sake. are they going to sing this song in winter too? haha

  9. June 1, 2010 9:12 pm

    for me.. i love the song,,, being auto-tune isnt bad>> it makes the song easy to sing…
    the beat of the music is catchy and so glamorous…
    the dance step is quite simple but in somehow hard enough..the part when all is dancing until there is only four of them is dancing is so catchy and surprising,, the members improves a lot like kyuhyun he dances well and yesung and ryeowook.. its a good music.. although it is somehow similar to the sorry sorry but still it has a touch of uniqueness and its suju style/….

    rouki

Leave a Reply

