Skip to content

Several disappointments (part three/Super Junior)

June 15, 2010

A few days back I decided I would talk about three Kpop disappointments I’ve had lately. They’re focused on Infinite (post here), f(x) (post here), and Super Junior. This final installment is about Super Junior.

Okay, so I’ve only recently gotten around to listening to the entire “Bonamana” album. Here’s the disappointment: it doesn’t have a lot of consistency. It’s upbeat, ballad, bouncy/cute, ballad, ballad, ballad, bouncy/cute, etc. IDK.

I don’t know why I want this from Super Junior’s albums. Most of their albums turn out this way; they have a few good tracks, but a lot seem like fillers. I understand that it’s a lot of work to get thirteen (give or take, but mostly take) members in one place for the recording of the music, video(s), and performances. STILL, it’s SM! Even though SM can be pretty commercial (as you expect it to be), they have a lot of quality people working under them. It shouldn’t be that hard to put a really solid album out. PLUS, they had less members (ten) working on this. I just felt like there would be less chaos and perhaps they’d pull together something fantastic.

I’ll give this album props for having several tracks that stood out. “Bonamana” is what it is (I like it more than I did at first, but I still think it could have more strength and uniqueness to it), and songs like “Boom Boom” and “Shake It Up!” are songs that are full of Super Junior style (even “My Only Girl” is pretty listenable). I’m good with that.

Question: Why so many ballads? Sure, SJ has KRY and they’re GREAT. I honestly think they don’t get enough attention. However, I get perplexed when they dominate the regular Super Junior albums. Maybe I should get over that idea… that, you know, they’re a group and all (not just three members). “Coagulation” is a pretty track, and I think Ryeowook and Yesung have solos. Just… next time can we have a bigger group effort?

I’m probably just being picky, because this album isn’t bad. I guess all of my “several disappointments” posts are like this. I had expectations that weren’t met. I hate the fact that I’m coming off as some kind of lame critic though. I really do like this album! But do you know what I’m saying? I like them so much I want them to blow my mind. Haha, how silly.

That’s how it is with Kpop and me these days. It’s easy to build great faith in groups based purely on their personalities and energy. If that was all it took to make a fan, fanclubs would be bursting at the seams. As it is, a lot of fans are there on things like that alone. He’s cute; she makes me laugh; they’re good at variety… you know. I am like that too, sometimes. I don’t think you can blame me for sometimes wanting something more solid though. After all, these groups are supposed music-based, not entertainment-based. They work hard, however, so I’ll let them off the hook.

For now.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2010 12:04 pm

    So many ballads because 2010 hasn’t really turned out to be the best year. I think Sorry, Sorry album was MUCH better than Bonamana. And now they are repacking the album.

  2. June 23, 2010 9:57 am

    I agree completely about the album as a whole being disappointing. Full-length albums by SM artistes are generally mediocre (even SHINee’s album, which I tried my hardest to like, was boring); the last great Super Junior album was DON’T DON.
    I am looking forward to the repackage though. Somehow, Super Junior’s repackages never disappoint.

Leave a Reply

