Skip to content

Rambles (especially about Taeyang)

June 23, 2010

Hi all! I thought I’d casually update. My computer needed some fixing, so I took it in last week and only got it back today. Even though I go for long stretches without posting, I thought of a million things to say while I was computerless. Irony. If I try to put something organized together now, I’ll be to critical of the text and I will lose momentum. SO, you get a ramble-y/rant-y post about a few topics.

Dara and Taeyang on the set of Tayang’s “I Need a Girl” MV

(Please note when I say “people” in the following text, I mean the commenters on sites/communities/forums I visit).

With all of this news bubbling up about Taeyang’s upcoming album release (“Solar”), I can’t help but get excited and want to talk about things. First, I must address my frustrations with people. Lately the word “bias” has been thrown around in relation to artists people fan obsessively, so I will pick up this word for now and say I have a huge Taeyang bias.

People have been talking about how all of Taeyang’s songs sound the same, and how they seem boring and generic. Okay? What? I understand that people have different tastes, honestly. I do. But when you love something/someone as much as this you start wondering what kind of crazy pills you have to be taking to not want to put Taeyang’s music on repeat. LOL! When I first heard “HOT,” I actually wasn’t that impressed. What got me was how when I played it more, it grew on me exponentially; now it is at the point that I wonder if I can like it any more than I do now. The same goes for “Wedding Dress.” I liked the concept at first, but had no idea I would like it as much as I do at this point. Ah, I will allow people their difference of opinion, but I hold onto my own opinion with great happiness.

Also, MOST everyone is commenting on how annoying/silly/weird his facial hair is. LOL! I have to say I hardly even notice it’s there when I see pictures of him. When I do notice it, I think it’s subtle and suits him fine.

I’m reaaaaally excited about this album, no matter what “people” say. And truth be told, Taeyang has a LOT of international fans (as well as Korean fans, I’m sure; that goes without saying) that are anticipating it along with me. For once, I want summer to sprint along. The last time I felt like this was when I was waiting for Big Bang’s “Stand Up” album.

Oh dear, something just occurred to me. I’ve been thinking recently about how G-Dragon’s solo album didn’t come out that long ago. With all of YG’s promised album releases for the summer (Taeyang, Se7en, etc.), articles keep saying that there has been nothing from YG since 2NE1’s mini-album. I don’t know why they keep forgetting GD (who could forget him!). BUT… it’s almost July. And the month after July is August. Meaning, it’s almost been an entire year since G-Dragon released his album! I remember anticipating that. Time passes too fast.

I could go on for a lot longer, but then my train of thought would become even more twisted and confusing! Thanks for allowing me to talk about a few of my favorite things for a minute.

A few other thoughts running around my head right now: 2NE1 needs to come back. Big Bang REALLY needs to come back (I miss them so much). I need to watch You’re Beautiful this summer. I have to finish about 5-8 dramas that I still like but got distracted from. I need to finish writing several drama reviews. I need more money so I can buy albums guilt-free. I’m glad TOP’s single is on iTunes.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2010 12:14 am

    HI. 🙂 I think it’s my first time commenting here but I am a frequent visitor of your site. I love your style of writing as wells as your insights.

    Sad to say but what you said is true. I too didn’t get it why netizens have to be critical with YB’s facial hair. I mean, c’mon, even if they stop the world, that would still grow. Right?

    Out of BB, personality wise I like G-dragon and T.O.P the best but musically, I love YB’s work. The moment I heard the intro of Look a t Me and Wedding Dress, I already fell in love with the songs. I so looking forward to his new album. The teaser is already so good.

    I also miss 2NE1 and BB so much. I hope this time YG keeps his promise.

    Sorry if this turned out to be a very long comment. Just got too excited.

    • June 25, 2010 1:19 am

      What a sweet comment! Thank you 🙂

      I’m definitely attracted to GD’s charm, but YB is the kind of guy I’d really fall for. I love his music SO much too! Those are my favorite two songs by him, by the way. Something about them is just… IDK. They’re very beautiful and heartfelt.

      I am getting so antsy the closer July gets. I’m worried something will happen to prevent this album from coming out! I need it ;__;

      • June 26, 2010 1:44 am

        🙂 GD is so cute for his own sake. 🙂 I’m strongly feeling that everything will tun out okay. July 1 <3.

  2. kpoopin' permalink
    June 26, 2010 8:50 am

    i miss them too! YG will dominate KPOP this summer!! :))

Leave a Reply

