Skip to content

Review of SHINee’s ‘Lucifer’ MV

July 21, 2010

One of the first things I thought while watching SHINee’s new “Lucifer” video was, “Something like this can only exist within Kpop.” It’s culturally acceptable for these guys to be somewhat androgynous (while remaining masculine). Their style is so strange, but I love it. It’s so bad it’s good? It’s so outdated it’s come back? I don’t know.

Second thought: It’s fierce! Work it, boys! I love the choreography and adoreeee the video’s focus on it. Don’t give me videos with plots; just give me the dance and nobody gets hurt. SHINee’s videos usually make me happy for this reason.

Anyway, I love “Lucifer” (I’m still trying to wrap my brain around it; I can’t find a pattern to it or pick out parts like bridge and chorus etc. easily), and the rest of the album sounds fab. Congrats, SHINee for staying cool.

(I can’t believe Minho finally has normal hair and everyone else’s hair is wtf-ery. Taemin? IDK. IDEK. Still fierce.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2010 2:59 pm

    I just want to know why people have to bash them so much about their new style and calling them gay like it’s an insult or something. I’ve noticed over the past week is that SHINee (for the first time) is starting to get antis due to their concept pictures and Lucifer MV and it’s pretty bad.

    • July 22, 2010 2:59 am

      I never said they were gay or looked gay or anything like that. Androgyny ≠ sexuality. They just have an interesting mix of masculine and feminine, so that’s probably what a lot of people are observing. I think it’s an interesting concept. I doubt it’s the first time they’ve received bad comments or gained antis over a look. Remember their “Juliette” concept? With that, they even got flack for copying a look that had been featured in a fashion magazine. I’m not trying to be critical, but point out that this is nothing new.

      • July 22, 2010 10:55 am

        And I never said you said that. I was just stating what anti’s and people who love to bash are saying.

        I don’t think Juilette was that bad. Perhaps I need to read over the comments on that concept again.

  2. Anna permalink
    August 14, 2010 11:50 am

    Nice review. “…everyone else’s hair is wtf-ery. Taemin?” I beleive that is exactly what everyone thought when they saw him. They’ve cut it shorter since, but it’s still long. Meanwhile, what is going on with Key’s hair. But that’s besides the point. Even though I like Shinee and I like the album I’m still trying to wrap my mind around the whole concept of “Lucifer”. I think I read a brief and vague explination of it but now all you can find is concept photo’s but no actual explination for the theme. v.v;;

Leave a Reply

