Skip to content

Loving Se7en’s ‘Better Together’ MV

July 22, 2010

Se7en was one of the very first Korean artists I was exposed to and listened to, so he has a special place in my heart. He’s been gone so long from the K-pop scene that I have never seen him promote! I’m super excited that he’s making a comeback now. His “Better Together” MV was released today, and it’s really fab.

The biggest vibe I get from Se7en is maturity. It’s not like he’s an old fogey, but dang this is a man. When you compare him to the guys in nowadays idol-groups… well, there is no comparison. Only long-running groups like Dong Bang Shin Ki have this kind of manly essence~ I don’t get this feeling with Rain; he’s kind of in his own league, for some reason. But man, SE7EN! He’s where it’s AT.

I find it rather amusing that Jay-Z’s line about adoring girls (in “Girls, Girls, Girls”) has made it’s rounds through YG (just like “on and on ’til the break of dawn” and other phrases did in the past). It first appeared in Se7en’s “Girls,” Taeyang’s “I Need a Girl,” and now it’s here again in “Better Together.” I guess they’ve formed an attachment to it?

Anyway, Se7en is sounding and looking good. It’s sad that he had to be gone for so long (and only release one mediocre song in the span of 3+ years), but now that he’s here, he’s really HERE. He’s going to give SHINee a run for their money (and Taeyang too, saaaaad face right now–I’m pretty sure he is going to stop promoting soon though). The video is really clean and it has a good mix of close-ups and choreography shots. Love that!

I’m so glad Se7en is back! His EP, “Digital Bounce” is pretty good. “Better Together” is a solid track, and the video really fits it. He has a song with TOP from Big Bang (“Digital Bounce”) and I’m loving it (he and TOP go well together… musically, haha). “Money Can’t Buy Me Love” is in English! It’s so much better than his last English song (“Girls”). I like “I’m Going Crazy” a lot too. The whole album is fun to listen to, so check it out of if you can.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2010 10:54 am

    “Se7en was one of the very first Korean artists I was exposed to and listened to, so he has a special place in my heart. ” – Couldn’t have said it better myself, zerohundred. ^_^

    Is it me or do you love his hair towards the end of the video? And I think he came back strong, now I want to see him on variety. ^_^

  2. August 2, 2010 10:00 pm

    I’m loving the Digital Bounce live performances. The choreo is great, and TOP has immense swagger!

Leave a Reply

