Skip to content

Why ‘You’re Beautiful’ is restoring my faith in dramas

August 2, 2010

I started watching You’re Beautiful the other day and I think it’s safe to say that I’m absolutely in love.

You’re Beautiful

I’m sure many of you are thinking things along the lines of, “Well… duh,” but let me explain. I’ve been through enough drama seasons to know how to schedule what I watch. I typically wait around and try to catch what people are saying. My main questions throughout these times are, “Is it going to be worth it for me to sit through all of the episodes?” and, “Will it be sweet and true only up until the last episode, where it will trample my emotions and dump them in the nearest river?” and so on.

For instance, last season we had three dramas airing around the same time that all got a lot of acclaim/notice/hype: Cinderella’s Sister, Personal Taste, and Prosecutor Princess. I didn’t bother with Cinderella’s Sister because my eyes/ears told me it would be too melodramatic for my taste (feel free to tell me I’m wrong). Personal Taste seemed to disappoint a lot of people but I decided to try it anyway (because Lee Minho called to me). DISAPPOINTED. I still haven’t finished it because of several issues I will gladly discuss with you if you ask (I stopped after episode 11). Prosecutor Princess seemed to be outside of my usual drama fare, but it got a lot of positive reviews so I tried and adored it.

Cinderella’s Sister (cap credit), Personal Taste, and Prosecutor Princess

I guess this is my long winded way of explaining that I know what people say about dramas, and I’m usually right about what I hear (in terms of what I will or won’t like). In the case of You’re Beautiful, of course I heard it was amazing. In fact, I heard so many people say it was good that I’ve put it off for the day when I need to be reminded why I love watching dramas. A few days ago, after Personal Taste had me down in the dumps, I decided to just GO FOR IT.

Okay, so I haven’t even made it halfway through yet. I just finished episode six last night (baby let’s take it slowww~ haha) and I’m not in a rush to finish. The thing I’m loving is that I’m watching with excitement and when I’m done with an episode, I’m full of laughter and I don’t have to come up with ten thousand excuses for why I can stop watching. I actually have to get myself to STOP watching because I’ll need to go to bed or something.

So where am I going with all of this? I suppose I just wanted to tell you all that my faith has been restored in dramas. I’m racking up quite the pile of shows that I picked up and put down because of one reason or another. More often than not, I will hate one or more of the characters to the point that I can’t bear to keep watching. Otherwise, the plot will have reached a point of either greatness (in which case I don’t want to continue because the next episode will ruin it all and plunge me into depths of despair), crap (in which case everything has gone to the dogs and there isn’t a point to keep going), or blandness (this usually happens with J-dramas; every episode is basically a variation on a theme until the last episode when the world must be saved or something. SO PREDICTABLE AND ANNOYING). I’m trying not to get overly excited about You’re Beautiful because with ten episodes left, there is so much room for twists and turns that will disappoint. However, I have a little faith for the integrity of the show, and believe it won’t completely let me down.

(Is it sad that I’m dying to buy this even though I haven’t even reached that episode yet? I don’t even have money for it, and if I did I should buy something more practical. BUT OMG IT CALLS OUT TO MY FANGIRL SPIRIT.)

(So far my only two gripes are: Park Shin-hye doesn’t even begin to look like a guy EVER, and while Jung Yong-hwa is adorable and fantastic in C.N.Blue, his acting is equivalent to Kim Hyun-joong’s for me. SORRY BOY :()

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2010 9:58 pm

    Glad you’re liking it so far. Jung Young-hwa has absolutely nailed that ‘longing for you/vacant stare’ look. It’s the only look he gives!

    • August 3, 2010 2:04 pm

      His look almost reaches a level of blankness I would imagine it would be hard to get to. I want to like him and his character so much, but even Hongki/Jeremy has more life to him. Actually, I’m totally in love with Jeremy and I want to put him in my pocket and keep him forever. I’m surprised they have given him so much material for his little part.

  2. August 3, 2010 5:45 am

    I thought it was ok. But the girl’s an idiot. She had 3 boys on her and she should’ve choose Yonghwa, he was the BEST ONE! I feel so sorry for Hongki though. 😦

    Wait ’till you see the end.

    • August 3, 2010 2:12 pm

      I’m gonna talk about what I think about things more in my review when I finish the drama, but for now I’ll just say that I don’t really blame her. She goes into the situation of the group being very naive and inexperienced in love. She tries to be nice and friendly with everyone, and the only one who clearly is head-over-heels is Yong-hwa’s character. (At the point I’ve reached; I just finished episode 8 ) He doesn’t tell her honestly that he knows her identity, although he almost does several times. He says he’s doing it for everyone’s good, but I really think he’s just scared their relationship will flush down the toilet if he does. I think it’s obvious that he loves Mi-nam, but he doesn’t let go of all his insecurities for her. He holds back, even if just a little bit.

      In contrast, Tae-kyung is as honest as he can be. Even when WE can see he’s developing feelings for Mi-nam, he never seems to realize it himself. Therefore, all of his feelings, good or bad, are on display for Mi-nam to observe. Even when he is not truthful with her about everything (for instance, he lies about his relationship with UEE’s character), it’s because he is sacrificing himself for her comfort. I don’t think he goes about everything in the best way, but it’s clear that he (even if he does so begrudgingly) keeps doing things for Mi-nam to protect her. I don’t think he’s perfect by any means, but I can see why Mi-nam would go for him and not Yong-hwa’s character. He displays/expresses his emotions with little reservation, and somehow that is endearing.

      I feel bad for Jeremy/Hongki, definitely. He really never has a chance! I love his acting though, and think he’s a great addition to the story.

Leave a Reply

