Skip to content

HBIC returns; review of BoA’s ‘Hurricane Venus’ album

August 8, 2010

This woman is absolutely FIERCE. This is real, people. I’m so glad BoA is back in Korea to remind us all who is in charge. Lately we’ve had an influx of new groups (this year and last), and now it’s time for K-pop’s best to show everyone who’s boss. Rain, Se7en, and now BoA.

Yes, it’s a great time to be in the fandom.

The “Hurricane Venus” video is GORGEOUS and I have nothing to complain about. I suppose I’m not into the baseball cap, but other than that I find this video to be ah-mazing. Charisma to the max~

  1. GAME: I thought the video for this song was okay; it was cute and fun, but I’m infinitely relieved that this is not the main song for the album. It’s alright, but there is something about it… it’s just not engaging enough. Interestingly, I find that it’s a bit J-pop inspired? Not entirely, but compare it to what most K-pop artists are releasing and you’ll see the difference. Over all, it’s a good song. However, I don’t feel that it’s anything special. It’s just… okay.
  2. HURRICANE VENUS: I am in loooove with this song. The first time I heard it was when BoA was performing it on stage. I like the studio version a bit more, but BoA definitely brings it all to her performances. I think this track is like a lot of SM’s previous hits; it reminds me a lot of f(x)’s “NU ABO” for some reason, and there is a clear connection to SHINee’s “Lucifer” with the “Electronic Manic Supersonic Bionic Energy,” which is like “Loverholic, Robotronic, Loverholic, Robotronic” (not so much in the words, but in the string of random English-y words). Still, it’s a fantastic song and I love love love the “스르륵 스르륵 덮치며/seureureuk seureureuk deopchimyeo/slowly slowly enveloping slowly slowly wakes your body” break in the “Hurricane Venus” part of the chorus. GUH.
  3. Dangerous: This is another good dance track from BoA. It probably could have been the title song, but I’m glad it’s not. “Hurricane Venus” definitely has more umph. Despite that, “Dangerous” is still a powerful and entertaining song in its own right. Can’t have enough of stuff like this from BoA!
  4. 옆 사람 (Stand By): I’m not too into this song. The “piano” in the background is pukey–let’s not kid ourselves. Her singing is fine, and even the song itself is okay. But whyyyyy would you make this into some kind of cheese-fest melodrama-worthy song? It has so much potential! If you ignore the bad things and just listen to the melody, life is so much better. I try to do that when listening to this.
  5. M.E.P (My Electronic Piano): I’m pretty much baffled as to why they felt like they need to abbreviate the title. Eh, who cares! It’s a good song. The English is a bit questionable, but I think this is a great track in so many ways. It’s not upbeat, but it’s boring either. It’s one of the better songs on the album, although the album is pretty well rounded! I guess I just mean to say that I really like this one. “I think you’re still ~love~ with me~”
  6. Let Me: Haha, “Let Me” brings me back to BoA’s US album. It sounds a lot like the songs that were on there, don’t you think? It’s a decent track, though. It’s not the strongest track on the album, but it has a catchiness to it that I like. My favorite part of it is the chorus.
  7. 한별 (Implode): I’m not big on ballads, BoA’s or otherwise. HOWEVER, this is not a ballad to me. It’s a slow song and I. LOVE. IT. to death. The first time I heard it was while I was trying to go to sleep. Partway through I was thinking about how much I liked it, and then I thought, “How Nell is this?” Weird. OKAY, so when the male background vocal came in I literally sat up in bed, super excited. I listened to the rest of the track and was like, “JONG-WAN??!?!?!” Come on, if you’ve ever listened to Nell you know that the vocals are unmistakably unique. After some hunting, I’ve discovered that Jong-wan of Nell wrote/arranged/featured in this song. Could I love this song more? I think that just sealed it. It’s a beautiful track. I like how emotional it is; it starts out slow, and builds without you knowing it. By the end of the song, you’ve been on a journey. This is what I love about Nell, and having this paired with BoA is unbelievably awesome. So happy about this!
  8. Adrenaline: For some reason this track reminds me of Soft Cell’s “Tainted Love.” Does anyone else get that vibe? It doesn’t matter; I like it. Adrenaline, adrenaline, adrenaline~ It’s one of those songs that grows on you the more you listen to it. LALALA I LOVE IT~
  9. 하루하루 (Ordinary Day): Kind of bored with this… It’s alright, but nothing to write home about. Maybe I’m the only one who feels this way?
  10. Don’t Know What to Say: This piano is so much better than whatever was in “옆 사람 (Stand By).” I don’t entirely know how I feel about “Don’t Know What to Say,” but it showcases a different side of BoA. The chorus is by far the best thing about this song. It’s not a super exciting track, but I guess it holds strong in the basics. It doesn’t need anything elaborate, and maybe that’s its charm.
  11. 로망스 (Romance): Not gonna lie; this is a weird song for this album. How does it fit? I can’t figure it out at all. It’s not a bad song, but it’s the wrong style for everything else. This might be an interesting digital single or something, but I just don’t get it’s place in this album. Of course, it’s beautiful and retro etc., but the fact that they’re trying to put “Romance” in the same lineup as “Hurricane Venus” is absolutely perplexing.

I think this album is really fantastic. I tend to be on the fence about BoA’s music. I usually like about half of what I hear? I think this album is kind of the same, but maybe it pushes things a bit. I can easily say I like most of it, but at the same time it’s not all my typical style either. I feel like it starts out way stronger than it ends. I would have preferred if it ended with “Don’t Know What to Say” rather than “로망스 (Romance).” Ah, but whatever. It’s a good album and you can’t stop the fabulousness that is BoA.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2010 8:58 am

    Whatever you do, DON’T DO LUCIFER NEXT!
    Check your Twitter.
    We can do a collaborative post with saranghaejkpop and Music4UrSoul.

    By the way, the only songs I liked were Hurricane Venus, GAME grew on me a lot – perfect for summer and Adrenaline.

  2. August 10, 2010 4:57 am

    hi i’m just a random passerby looking for reviews of BoA’s album..and imo the album certainly did not disappoint me. way better than my expectation. Hurricane Venus..phew, sexy, gorgeous, charismatic..what else can i use to describe this girl? Dangerous is addictive as well but hurricane venus is so better. didn’t like Game that much before this but it grew on me, i think it suits perfectly to be the 1st song of the album. My other favourites are Don’t know what to say and Implode. i’m so glad that she’s back..time for everyone to feel the difference of BoA with other female solo singers yo. BoA is back!

  3. Ale permalink
    August 12, 2010 7:04 pm

    I basically feel the same way about the same songs! I LOVE Implode, I think I should check out Nell now!!

Leave a Reply

