Skip to content

Just another reason to love K-pop

September 20, 2010

I have recently been on an English music kick. Before I became a K-pop obsessed individual, I had huge indie music leanings. It creeps back every now and then, and I’m actually grateful for that because it helps me keep up (sort of) with my peers. However, I am once again reminded of one of the reasons I spend almost all my time listening to JUST K-pop.

This reason, simply enough, is that it brightens my mood considerably. I just spent six hours straight working on a project and when I came back (from school) I put on Rainbow’s “A.” Rainbow’s extremely cheerful vocals in this song make me like it so much. It’s not perfect by any means, but I like it as it is and wouldn’t want to change it.

Another thing I like about K-pop is that it isn’t trying to pretend to be some kind of revelation. It’s just MUSIC. Sure, ballads can be more moving than trendy chart-toppers, but even then the songs aren’t particularly “artsy.” I do love non-pop, but sometimes I get tired of the attempts of each artist/group to reinvent their genre. Maybe that’s just indie music. Who knows!

I do know that although I enjoy all types of music, K-pop is what I turn to when I want to change my mood for the better.

What about you? Do you have any reasons for listening to K-pop? Is K-pop your only jam or you do listen to other genres as well?

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 21, 2010 8:06 am

    I guess I love K-Pop because I can relate to it. It has a feeling of R&B and Hip-hop and plus when I dance to it, the dances seem a bit more complex than usual.

Leave a Reply

