Skip to content

T-ara comeback extravaganza: Energy, (no?!) clothes, culture, & :o faces

December 5, 2010

I have a giant T-ara post for you! In it I cover their comeback performance on KBS Music Bank and also discuss “Yayaya” in depth (the song, video, cultural references, etc).

I have to say that “왜 이러니/Why Are You Being Like This” seemed a bit more exciting on stage than in the video. It’s pretty odd, though, because the stage was kind of boring. The energy level was wayyy down. I’m not getting a good vibe from T-ara on this song. The song has grown on me a lot, but I’m glad it’s not their main track. It’s just not as addictive as it could be. OH, I totally cracked up at the major differences in height that are even more apparent now that Hwayoung has been added to the group. And DANG, she’s tall. Also, she looked a lot different on stage than in pictures. I wish they’d give Soyeon bangs again because I think she looks so cute like that. Not in love with Jiyeon’s hair.

Total LOL bit of information is that Music Bank thought rejected their original outfits (presumably the same but with hot pants and bare legs), so they revised by wearing tights. I actually think they look really classy like this. You get to focus on their cute faces rather than worrying how old they all are 😉 LOL.

ANYWAY, I haven’t talked about “Yayaya” at all yet, so let’s get into it. First of all, I think it’s easy to see concepts like this one and (especially as an American) get riled up over how politically incorrect it is (did you see the video? Phew). However, I suppose I’m very forgiving when it comes to Asian countries doing things like this because I chalk it up to ignorance of the whole situation. I also don’t think they’re disrespecting Native culture as with something like MC Mong’s “Indian Boy” (although I know he meant no harm as well) because they’re mostly only using visual aspects for their concept. Sure, some of the dance moves etc. hark back to stereotypes, but again: ignorance. I’m not saying it’s right, but I find it passible. In a lot of Western countries, diversity is both a hot topic and something we’re used to for the most part. South Korea, however, is culturally homogeneous (which means they have little diversity). You have to give them some grace because they don’t have the same background as people who live and breathe a diversity of cultures. (And don’t think we’re immune to cultural misrepresentations; just see what Hollywood’s pooping to get an idea about Asian stereotypes–it’s not pretty).

I just had to get that out of the way.

As for the song, I find it rather forgettable–even more so than “Why Are You Being Like This.” I think it works better as a promotional song, but there is something special missing from it. I can’t put my finger on it. It’s still a fun track; I can’t really find anything to complain about other than it doesn’t make a huge impression. The video was similar; it was enjoyable to watch, but nothing special. I think it was better than the chaotic videos for “Why Are You Being Like This” or “너 때문에 미쳐/I Go Crazy Because of You.”

When it comes to the performance, I think the energy was better. It was still not perfect, because it had a very contrived feeling, but I think it was worth the time of watching. Their outfits are ADORABLE and I think the set decorations (colors!) were pretty fitting for their look. The dance is so cute and fun! I feel like entertainment-wise, “Yayaya” has the potential to be up there with “Bo Peep Bo Peep.” TIME WILL TELL. T-ara just needs to pump of the performance level. I feel like Hyomin, Jiyeon and Eunjung were doing most of the work in this department. Some members would give energy for the camera, but in wide shots you couldn’t tell. For instance, Soyeon’s constant 😮 face didn’t translate as well as Hyomin’s ever-changing expressions. IDK.

Anyway, I’m excited that T-ara is promoting again. They always get me talking! I feel like with them and 4minute I don’t have a huge attachment or need to please anyone (although I typically cater to myself alone LOL), so I wind up feeling free to talk freely.

What do you think about T-ara’s new songs? Yay or nay? Do you feel like Kpop should stay away from bringing other cultures into their styling or is it harmless fun?

I think Hwayoung fits in really well, but I need to see her more integrated. AND SHE IS SO TALL. Haha.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Liv permalink
    December 9, 2010 9:51 am

    I really dun understand why they think of tat way..
    In my opinion, I think they did a really good job!
    Yayaya so cute and it could make people happy n feel fresh.
    N,I have to say about “why are u being like this”
    it’s a good song though. The song express the shyness of Asian girls. they give chances and wait for the boys tell them “I love u”isn’t it ?
    So,please listen to it deeply in heart. You may fall in love wif the song.

  2. Kabudelz permalink
    December 24, 2010 2:12 pm

    2 of their title tracks have names that are made up of sounds instead of real words.. hahaha!

Leave a Reply

