Skip to content

TOP and G-Dragon world premiere recap

December 15, 2010

Last night (well, at 3 am) I watched TOP and G-Dragon’s world premiere for their album on YouTube. Or, rather, I tried. Here is my recap/comments/reactions to the night. If you want to watch this event for yourself, WTFpopK has a recorded version on USTREAM. I’m very appreciative for them restreaming the event because it made it possible for people like me to see; the one on YouTube buffered so much that it was impossible to see anything.

Okay, I’ve started at 2:58 am EST (4:58 KST).

All I see is massive buffering! ANNOYING! It’s really next to impossible to understand anything that’s going on because every half second it pauses, loads, and then comes back. I wish there was something I could do to fix it!

When I first tuned in there was a recorded performance of GD performing (“Breathe”?) and now TOP’s “Turn It Up” is stuttering along on my screen. I’m contemplating restarting my computer in hopes that some kind of miracle occurs. UGH, WHY DIDN’T I DO THAT WHILE “TURN IT UP” WAS PLAYING??!

In a desperate attempt to fix things I decided to go for the restart and it took over five minutes… I hope that I didn’t miss everything. The first frame I saw was something showing the credits for “Oh Yeah.” Did I miss “High High”? Well, turns out I missed NOTHING because it’s still buffering to death. Maybe I should go to sleep?

I HEAR MUSIC. SORT OF. BARELY. THIS IS ALL MAKING ME SO FRUSTRATED. Oh, it’s a clip of “Baby Good Night.” I THINK IT SOUNDS GOOD BUT I CAN’T TELL.

SOOOOOOO grateful to Kokokoreano (and Seoulbeats) for pointing me to USTREAM (where instead of YouTube. PERFECTION! Worth staying up for this.

Don’t Leave: Sounds SO good! I’m still getting some buffering (via the restream) but what I can hear has me happy. I’m surprised by the upbeat quality of things. I kind of thought everything would be along the lines of “Knocking Out” and “Turn It Up.”

TOP’s hair looks so cute down. It’s almost like a little boy’s? It’s so carefree. BUT BETTER. He looks so fierce on stage but put him in front of an audience he has to TALK to and he changes entirely.

GD’s hair is funky but I think it looks good on him.

Oh Mom: LMFAO IS THIS REALLY WHAT THE SONG IS CALLED? Omg though, it sounds pretty awesome… HE’S SINGING. TOP IS SINGING. CRYING I’M SO HAPPYYYYYYY.

“An unusual rock track for TOP the rapper. Based on a true story about a friend of his, the song tells the inside troubles of a person with heavy rock sounds. TOP, as a vocalist, sings with the mind of… a lonesome and restless boy?” I lost the last part. I just realized I want to write what they’re putting on screen for each track! They have it in English but briefly.

I wonder how long this is going to go on. It’s almost 4 am by now.

Obsession: GD track! It kind of sounds like a video game in the beginning. Btw, I will be re-reviewing these later. These aren’t even good initial reactions because I can’t hear them well enough. But I’m getting a really good impression of the album. I can’t wait for Christmas Eve! I can’t wait to hear this track in full because it sounds phenomenal.

“GD’s unique writing method is the highlight of the song. The music begins calmly, and then becomes intense in an instant. It creates the atmosphere of having a nightmare and running in the empty sky. (OMG it’s so hard to transcribe because the buffering will rush it off the screen).

I just realized I actually have $$$ for this (FOR ONCE). I sold a bunch of clothes today LOL. I’m spending half on another project though…

Of All Days: So much autotune. BUT LIKING IT. I like how the songs are starting out slow but then they get a kick of energy. Loveee TOP’s solo tracks so far.

“A BIGBANG-styled piece with the piano performance, the mix of Electronica based in House and Hiphop, and the intense refrain. The song presents the joy and freedom of longing of a person who wants to be free.”

They keep showing YG on the side, looking like a proud papa.

Now GD’s is talking about how they have every genre ever on their album. JK, but he’s listing like every genre ever, so…

What Do You Want: LOL the dialogue for this song. Oh man, he wasn’t kidding when he was talking about genres. What is this? WTF? Very different, but I’m open to the concept.

“GD knows no limit when it comes to making different genres of music! GD describes the circumstance in which nothing works in his way like a drunkard to the rhythm of Rock ‘n Roll.”

HIGH HIGH MUSIC VIDEO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SLFJADSLJFDS;FJDS;LAFJASLKFJSDLKFJSLDFJSD

EXCITEMENT ABOUNDS! LOL GD looks like he’s dressed the same (even though I know he’s not). I can’t get a good impression of the song but whateverrr. I THINK IT’S GOOD. I THINK. I see lotsa Caucasians LMAO. LMFAO at the girl hugging TOP. We all want that, oh yeah. I can’t wait to hear/see it in full. It looks like it’s so full of cuteness and charm~

Confused about why the video is coming on again? Is it a remix? Who even knows? Who cares! Again, yes! Oh, are they doing autographs now? YAY, it’s coming through clearer this time.

Someone on USTREAM (baddestxfemale) roughly translated how they explain their logo: “their playboy bunny logo represents peace and the fact it’s only TWO members. plus Bom features in it and she is always compared to a bunny.”

Is it over? They’re leaving.

LOL behind the scenes? Awesome. Laughing so hard at one of the lyrics of “High High” being “I’m so high.”

It’s over! Yay. Well, at least I attempted to watch the whole thing.

I think they’re replaying things now… it seems like they’re showing Big Bang’s MBC debut?! Interesting choice. LOL “LaLaLa.” OH, this is what the person who’s restreaming chose, haha.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

