Skip to content

Taeyang goes international and I foam at the mouth

August 3, 2010

!!! Get ready for news. Good news. Great news, even.

Okay, I know a lot of fans must be disappointed right now, but I’m feeling slightly like Christmas came early. Taeyang had to cancel his solo concert because he basically hadn’t prepared for it adequately, but that doesn’t affect me all that much since I can’t go anyway. The exciting thing is this:

YG Entertainment’s Yang Hyun Suk revealed, “On the 19th, Taeyang will release his International Release Album… Taeyang will also begin promotions for the title track I’ll Be There soon.”

He continued, “YG has begun releasing YG artists’ music on the international iTunes Store for the past few months… For the next step, there are plans to release English versions of future YG artists’ music and music videos through the iTunes store, Youtube, and another international sites… The first artist for this plan is Taeyang with his International Release Album.”
(Source)

UM, yes?! This is great for several reasons. First off, I was fully prepared to have to wait years and years more until we got more solo material from Taeyang. Two more songs? YESYESYES and YES. Second, it’s international. International. That means we’re being noticed! This deserves a dance that goes on forever, but I’ll spare you. Third, “I’ll Be There” is getting promotion. AND A DANCE! YHS even thinks it’s the best he’s seen in several years.

I’m wondering about all of this. English versions? That usually ends up disastrous (see: any of Big Bang’s English remakes, especially “We Belong Together.” One word: juicy. *Shiver*), but I’ll cross my fingers like crazy and hope that this time something better is going to happen.

But you know what? I don’t care. I really don’t care about WHAT we’re getting, but just that we’re getting something! SO EXCITED!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. NyNy permalink
    August 3, 2010 5:50 am

    It’s international to me if it reaches London, ok? If I don’t see it in the shelves in Chinatown or Japan Centre then it’s not international to me. In Korea, it seems international to them is Asia and America.

    ¬_¬ Bastards.

    • August 3, 2010 1:59 pm

      Uh, I live in the US but I never have albums come near me. Only the big cities get things. I think Koreans consider America being an international option because of the interest in K-pop due to all of the Korean-Americans that live here. There is a market for the music. Since I live in a state that does not have a big Korean population, even the biggest cities near me won’t have K-pop.

      Plus, I’m not entirely sure they’re releasing a physical copy of Taeyang’s album. They might just do an iTunes digital album.

      Haha, you sound so hostile. Don’t you think it’s good that YG is expanding their vision of who Taeyang’s audience is? No matter what, I don’t see this as a bad thing. I actually don’t think we should have any expectations from any Korean group or company to consider any country outside of Asia. Of course they will want to stay where they are most understood and received! This is why I think it can’t be bad if they notice any country in the West; it’s surprising to begin with.

      • NyNy permalink
        August 4, 2010 3:08 pm

        Yeah, it’s good but it’s as if every K-Pop company ignores Europe and Austraila for that matter like they have no fans and goes for America. I like to think it’s because of the American Dream really but that’s my opinion.

  2. August 3, 2010 12:17 pm

    Ah! This is so excited! 🙂 I have converted my younger brother into a Taeyang lover by having him listen to his Solar album!!

    • August 3, 2010 2:01 pm

      I know! It’s amazing. I have been chauffeuring my younger (13-14) sister and her friends around this summer and I often play Taeyang while they’re in the car. Several times they’ve asked who is playing, and after a few times certain friends are like, “I LOVE THIS SONG!” HAHA! My evil plan is working~

      • August 5, 2010 1:55 pm

        BWAHAHA! I sometimes catch my brother trying to dance to “Wedding Dress”! Our plans are working! 🙂 Have you heard any news on Big Bangs comeback to Korea by any chance?

Leave a comment